Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 14, 2007

The 93rd session of the Walker County Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. Velton Chafin called the class to order leading 31b. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Brenda Merritt; Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 498 (for Willodean Barton); Sonya Sipe 565, 171; Marlin Beasley 460 (in memory of Elsie Beasley), 129 (for Wilton Donaldson); Wayne Baines 155, 340; Clarence McCool 341, 349; Sarah Smith 400, 382; Ottis Sides 480, 530; Gary Smith 503, 31t.


The class was called back to order by Glenn Keeton leading 300. Leaders: Lena Keeton 234, 454 (for Willodean Barton); Elsie Moon 74t, 494; Ann Jett 296; David Carlton 212, 472; Sandie Scott 408, 40; Jennifer Mosteller 128; Lisa Geist 273; Charles Kitchens 90; John Merritt 232; Delone Cobbs 73t; Josie Hyde 189; Jimmie Gilmore and Arthur Gilmore 124, 285t (for Garnsey McGough); Ken Tate 75.


Velton Chafin brought the class together leading 521.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Richard Mauldin. John Merritt led 499 and 347 in memory of the following deceased: John Hyde, Heath Jett, Flarce Creel, Cecil Wakefield, and Aubrey Stovall-Alabama; Mary Ballinger-Texas; Bobby Jackson-Georgia; Hibbard Thatcher-Tennessee; Everett Hines-Mississippi.

Marlin Beasley led 212 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Milton Oliver, Wilton Donaldson, Felton Denney, Josephine Denney, Pauline Childers, Edith Tate, Elder Phillip Gilmore, Elder W.G. McGough, Beau Caldwell, Marie Guthrie, L.H. Gilmore, Estelle Gilmore, Willodean Barton, Herby Bailey, and Uel Freeman. Richard Mauldin closed the memorial session with prayer.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 168, 86; Will Allred 282; Geraldine Sharpton 481; Bill Hogan 195; Nancy Hogan, Bill Hogan, and Seth Allred 70b; Wanda Capps 546; Susan Allred 183; Richard Mauldin and Dick Mauldin 158; Caleb Allred and Brenda Merritt 542, 448t; John Etheridge 398; Jennifer Allred 536; Amber Davis 192; Rachel Allred 440; Brenda Merritt and Caleb Allred 426b, 294; Danny Creel 76b; Harrison Creel 512; Butch White 344; Mary Kitchens 43; Billy Williams and Charles Kitchens 333; Juanita Beasley and Marlin Beasley 63; Becky Briggs 354b; Sonya Sipe, Garrett Sipe, and Anna Grace Sipe 274t; Billy Williams 28b.

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton and Velton Chafin led 267 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Brenda Merritt