Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church

Section, Alabama

Sunday, June 17, 2007

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in June was called to order by Dennis George leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Verlon Stiefel.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Dennis George; Vice Chairman—Tom George; Secretary—Sandra Jordan.

Leaders: Dennis George 40; Tom George 127, 155; S.T. Reed 30t, 43; Sandra Jordan 45t (in memory of Arvel Bailey and L.O. Harper); Mary Ruth Stiefel 166, 204; Ed Thacker 528, 538; Joyce Walton 34t; Loretta Smith 68b; Verlon Stiefel 288; James Page 284, 351, 272; Bud Oliver 274t, 314, 39b; Betty Shepherd 56t, 101t.


The class was called back to order by Tom George leading 388 and 128. Leaders: Henry Johnson 375, 70b; Joan Aldridge 71, 36b; Judy Caudle 129, 276; Russell Varner and Ruth Hancock 282 (for Carolyn Puckett), 32t; Coy Ivey 465 (CB); Rodney Ivey 176t, 512 (in memory of Colbie Allen and Faye Allen); Dennis George 318; Ed Thacker 209; Henry Johnson 176b; James Page 268; Loretta Smith 348b; Betty Shepherd 159 (in memory of her parents); Joan Aldridge 373; Tom George 300; S.T. Reed 428; Joyce Walton 177. Tom George offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Tom George leading 294. Leaders: Norma Green and Alexandra Makris 63; Alexandra Makris 145b, 119; Coy Ivey 384, 465 (CB) (for Carolyn Puckett); Syble Adams 49b; Rodney Ivey 31t; Judy Caudle 411; Bud Oliver 42; Mary Ruth Stiefel 126; Ed Thacker 475; Henry Johnson 123t; James Page 273; Loretta Smith 59; Alexandra Makris 222; Betty Shepherd 299; Joan Aldridge 540; Tom George 47b; S.T. Reed 109; Joyce Walton 192; Dennis George 108b; Coy Ivey and Rodney Ivey 137 (for Milton Oliver); Rodney Ivey and Syble Adams 378b; Judy Caudle 345b; Bud Oliver 343; Syble Adams 518 (CB).

Dennis George led 46 as the closing song. Dan Haynes offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dennis George; Vice Chairman—Tom George; Secretary—Sandra Jordan