Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt Museum, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 5, 2007

The 23rd annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Old Country Church on the grounds of Burritt Museum, located atop Monte Sano Mountain in Huntsville, Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Mark Carroll leading 47b. Sam Sommers offered the morning prayer.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Mark Carroll; Vice Chairman—Ron Harper; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Ballinger.

Leaders: Ron Harper 312b; Amanda Ballinger 454; Lomax Ballinger 300; David Ivey 111b; Doyce Bailey 34t; Jimmy Ballinger and David Ballinger 84; Gary Leopold 159; Ken Robinson 108t; Francis Jones 35; Everett Blackwood 30b; Teresa Hope 46; Wilton Donaldson 30t; Glenda Hopper 33t; Coy Ivey 137; Leslie Brady 101t; Bob Simmons 569b; Brittany Lea 99; Sam Jones 126; Sonya Sipe, Garrett Sipe, and Anna Grace Sipe 274t; Loyd Ivey 337; Nellie Alexander 81t; Charles Meidinger 163t; Norma Green and Nate Green 350.


The class resumed singing with Linton Ballinger leading 273. Leaders: Vella Dailey 43; Gravis Ballinger 112; Martha Beverly 56b; Henry Johnson 322; Pam Wilkerson 203; David Killingsworth 216; Donna Wootten 88t; Seth Allred 500; Jeannette DePoy 392; Earl Ballinger 498; Ruth Johnson and Lomax Ballinger 72b; Margaret Keeton 155; Marlon Wootten 323b; Josie Hyde 507.


Richard Ivey brought the class together leading 123t. Leaders: Allison Ivey 383; Jeff Adcock 448t; Alex Makris and Haley Carpenter 222; Betty Wright 49b.

Henry Johnson conducted the memorial lesson reading Psalms 61:2. The sick and shut-ins honored were Violet Thomason, Mattie Townsel, Herby Bailey, and Euel Franklin.

The deceased remembered were Mary Ballinger—Texas; Bill Green, Eldora Moody, Opal Tanner, Flarce Creel, John Hyde, and Heath Jett—Alabama; Bobby Jackson—Georgia. Judy Caudle led 496. Sam Sommers closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 276; Delone Cobbs 56t; Geraldine Sharpton 299; Kenneth Fannin and Carol Fannin 503, 225t; Bill Beverly 86.


The afternoon session was called to order by Ron Harper leading 440. Leaders: Michael Thompson 77t; Rachel Allred 371; Bud Oliver 421; Lisa Geist 304; Charles McCravy 208; Reba Windom 142; Shane Wootten 332; Sarah Jenkins 168; Leon Ballinger 313b; Cassie Allen and Jennifer Allred 269, 377; David Carlton 272; Syble Adams, Rhonda Arnold, and Pam Wilkerson 445, 63; Sam Sommers 386; Joan Aldridge 542; Larry Ballinger 215; Amanda Denson and Max Berueffy 76t; Max Berueffy 202; Rodney Ivey 382; Eloise Wootten 426b; J.L. Hopper 369; Elene Stovall and Reba Windom 436, 528; Karen Ivey 192; Karen Ivey and Rodney Ivey 288; Laurens Blankers 551, 479; Jeff Adcock 354b; Richard Ivey 567.

Following announcements, Mark Carroll led 146 as the closing song. Loyd Ivey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Mark Carroll; Vice Chairman—Ron Harper; Secretary—Amanda Ballinger