Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of West Georgia

Food Service Building, Carrollton, Georgia

Sunday, February 18, 2007

The annual Sacred Harp singing at the University of West Georgia in Carrollton, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Myron House, who welcomed everyone and led 59. The morning prayer was offered by Lonnie Rogers.

Leaders: Myron House 52t; Phillip Langley 171, 100; Charlene Wallace 99 (for Don Bowen), 139; Jan House 313t, 312b; Karen Rollins 143, 178.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Phillip Langley; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Karen Rollins; Memorial Committee—Jan House and John Plunkett; Finance Committee—Lela Crowder.

Leaders: Myron House 391, 52b; Stanley Edwards 187; Lonnie Rogers 141, 225t; Ed Thacker 316, 517; Judy Chambless 338, 339; Donna Bell 146, 75; Earlis McGraw 132, 568; Sandra Wilkinson 172, 473.


Phillip Langley called the class together leading 460. Leaders: Jan House 145t; Hugh McGraw 153; Jimmie Denney 40, 101t, 111t; Kathy Williams 38t, 77b; Charles Woods 77t (for Gladys McGraw), 399b; Denney Rogers 345t, 318; Paul Robinson 128, 494; Rachel Speers 200, 175; Bud Oliver 426t, 426b; Carlene Griffin 113, 155; Henry Johnson 375, 70b.


The afternoon session began with Myron House and friends leading 276 and 63. Leaders: Melinda Snow 496, 472; Eric Robinson 569b, 288.

The memorial lesson was conducted by John Plunkett, who led 475 in memory of Mary Hackney, Bobby Jackson, Max Denney, Doyle Wilson, Morton Duke, and Lura Jean Munroe.

Ed Thacker led 39b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Josephine Denney, Felton Denney, Mary F. Smith, Shelbie Sheppard, Rene Campbell, Douglas McCray, Mrytle Smith, and Katherine Benefield.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 572, 441; Lela Crowder 121, 385b; B.J. Harris 282, 503; Glinda Collins 445; Jenna Frey 401; Robert Chambless 303, 84; Mary Jo Shafer 82t, 410t; Evelyn Harris 129; Sheri Taylor 142, 47b; Myron House and Dr. Dawn McCord (from the University of West Georgia Music Department) 200.


Phillip Langley called the class back to order leading 209. Leaders: Cecil Roberts 335; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 68b; Debra Langley 299, Rhanda Harris 127, 551; Lisa Webb 222, 524; Louise Holland 437, 37b; Karleen Williams 136.

Announcements were made. Myron House and Phillip Langley led 323t as the closing song. Henry Johnson dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Phillip Langley; Secretary—Charlene Wallace