Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Christian County Historical Museum, Taylorville, Illinois

September 16-17, 2006

Saturday, September 16

The twenty-second annual session of the Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention was opened by Janet Fraembs leading 496. Don Bardsley offered the opening prayer.

Janet Fraembs welcomed the singers to the Christian County Historical Museum and thanked the staff of the museum for their cooperation and assistance. The books used were “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition”, and the “Missouri Harmony, 2005 revision” (MH).

The following officers and committees were previously elected and appointed: Chair—Janet Fraembs; Co-Chair—Berkley Moore; Secretary/Treasurer—Barbara A. Moore; Arranging—Berkley Moore and Barbara Moore; Chaplains: Don Bardsley and Don Baker.

Leaders: Berkley Moore 106; Don Baker 129; Peggy Brayfield 99; Don Bardsley 235; Lori Graber 29t; Dave Ressler 171; Joan Aldridge 172; Ryan Wheeler 66; Darrell Swarens 335; James Page 67 (MH); Paul Figura 127 (MH); Ginny Landgraf 162 (MH); David Rust 477; Shirley Figura 403; Michael Mosley 49b; Becky Browne 77 (MH); Bill Shetter 474; Carol Munro Mosley 148.


Berkley Moore brought the class back to order leading 229. Leaders: Gary Gronau 135 (MH); Presley Barker 481; Lamar Schlabach 276; Julie Vea 419; Ted Johnson 405; Grace Scrimgeour 547; Lee Steinmetz 68b; Ted Mercer 148 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 32t; Johanna Fabke 172 (MH); Penny Kujawinski 138 (MH) Janet Fraembs 338; Berkley Moore 129 (MH); Don Baker 47b; Peggy Brayfield 195; Don Bardsley 277; Dave Ressler 142; Joan Aldridge 300; Paul Figura 19 (MH); Ted Mercer 23 (MH); Ginny Landgraf 46 (MH) Shirley Figura 30b. Don Bardsley asked the blessing for the noon meal.


Janet Fraembs called the class back together for the afternoon session leading 87. Leaders: Becky Browne 121 (MH); Michael Mosley 38b; Carol Munro Mosley 84; Gary Gronau 143 (MH); Presley Barker 89 (MH); Lamar Schlabach 131b; Julie Vea 528; Ted Johnson 542; Grace Scrimgeour 107; Johanna Fabke 236; Adrian Eldridge 270; James Eldridge 354b; Rebecca Eldridge 282; Virginia Eldridge 503; Ryan Wheeler 496; Darrell Swarens 198; Jim Page 13 (MH); David Rust 86; Bill Shetter 546.


Dave Ressler called the class together after the break by leading 203.

Leaders: Lee Steinmetz 250; Lori Graber 143; Terry Hogg 112; Penny Kujawinski 217; Lou Kujawinski 272; Janet Fraembs 454; Berkley Moore 166 (MH); Don Baker 312b; Peggy Brayfield 442; Don Bardsley 192.


Terry Hogg led 523 to call the class back to order. Leaders: Lori Graber 510; Paul Figura 177 (MH); Ted Mercer 318; Ginny Landgraf 383; Shirley Figura 43.

Janet Fraembs led 323t as the closing song. Don Bardsley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, September 17.

The Sunday session was called to order by Janet Fraembs leading 59. Don Baker offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Berkley Moore 163t; Lori Graber 120; Jim Page 45 (MH); Dave Ressler 48b; Dan Bardsley 74b; Terry Hogg 29t; Peggy Brayfield 268; Don Baker 284; Wendy Popp 155; Karen Isbell 180 (MH); Richard Popp 335; Joan Aldridge 297; Lou Kujawinski 28t; Penny Kujawinski 114; Lee Steinmetz 49b; Bill Shetter 217; David Rust 53; Darrell Swarens 22 (MH); Ryan Wheeler 128.


Berkley Moore called the class back to order leading 82t. Lori Graber led 485.

Janet Fraembs conducted the memorial lesson and led 285t for the following deceased: Virginia Evans and Dennis Miller—Illinois; John Hyde—Alabama; and Mark Cassoria—Missouri.

Bill Shetter spoke for the sick and shut-ins and led 565: Judy Hauff—Illinois; Coy Ivey—Alabama; Chris Boring—California; Jeanette Lowry—Missouri; Bob Anderson, Dick Dunagan, and Bob Scorgie—Wisconsin. Don Baker closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Presley Barker 448t; Jim Page 98 (MH); Dave Ressler 34 (MH); Don Bardsley 282; Terry Hogg 27 (MH); Peggy Brayfield 270; Don Baker 288; Wendy Popp 175; Karen Isbell 377; Richard Popp 277; Joan Aldridge 276; Presley Barker 8 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 349; Penny Kujawinski 475; Lee Steinmetz 163b; Bill Shetter 56b. Don Baker asked the blessing for the noon meal.


Jim Page called the class together leading 31b. Leaders: David Rust 528; Pete Ellertsen 510; Darrell Swarens 350; Ryan Wheeler 278b; Janet Fraembs 178 (MH); Lori Graber 327; Berkley Moore 142 (MH); Jim Page 111 (MH); Dave Ressler 28 (MH); Don Bardsley 376; Terry Hogg 55 (MH); Peggy Brayfield 126 (MH); Don Baker 133; Wendy Popp 472; Karen Isbell 384; Richard Popp 536.


Darrell Swarens brought the class back to order leading 186. Leaders: Joan Aldridge 222; Presley Barker 313b; Lou Kujawinski 551; Penny Kujawinski 76b; Lee Steinmetz 154; Bill Shetter 556; David Rust 260; Pete Ellertsen 179; Darrell Swarens 354b; Ryan Wheeler 208; Janet Fraembs 532; Lori Graber 299; Berkley Moore 473; Jim Page 68 (MH); Dave Ressler 75 MH; Terry Hogg 51.

Announcements were made. Peggy Brayfield led 455. Janet Fraembs led 347 as the closing song. Don Barker dismissed the class with prayer.

Chair—Janet Fraembs; Co-Chair—Berkley Moore; Secretary—Barbara A. Moore.