Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Ashland, Alabama

Saturday, August 12, 2006

The 140th session of the Boiling Springs Convention was held at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church in Ashland, Alabama, on Saturday before the second Sunday in August. Chairman Eugene Forbes led 63 to bring the class to order. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer. Eugene Forbes led 61.

A business session was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Jenny Acton; Arranging Committee—Myrline Redmon and Edna Ruth Phillips.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 39b; Jim Helke 303, 77b; Judy Chambless 81t, 81b; Jenny Acton 108b, 340; Lou Cotney 222, 384; Robert Chambless 145b, 503; Gary Smith 73b, 225t; Lela Crowder 441, 283; Phillip Langley 300, 208; Jason Hollis 299, 39t; Faye Hollis 155, 171; Audress Gurley 37t, 274t; Sara Smith 35, 75.


Eugene Forbes led 328 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Brandon Acton 53, 40; Jeff Sheppard 203, 351; Martha Stanford 138b, 234; Richard Mauldin 43; Richard and Dick Mauldin 358; Ed Thacker 361, 568; Floy Wilder 297, 350; Nate Green and Norma Green 206, 207; Stanley Edwards 488, 530; Myrline Redmon 452, 569b; Wendy Futral 490, 340; John Puckett 330b, 71.


The afternoon session began with Eugene Forbes leading 317.

In a short business session, the congregation voted to keep the singing at Mt. Zion for another year.

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson. Richard Delong led 426t for the sick and shut-ins. Richard Mauldin led 143 for the deceased. Stanley Edwards offered prayer to close the memorial.

Leaders: Virginia Futral 566, 68b; Buell Cobb 303b; Jack Nelson 480, 438; Marilyn Bradley 59, 47b; Scott DePoy 179; Oscar McGuire 276, 344; Karen Clark 34b, 282 (in memory of Bobby Jackson); Karen Clark and Jenny Acton 25 (JB) (by request); Edna Ruth Phillips 189, 288; Brandon Acton 37t (by request); Mary Frances Forbes and Eugene Forbes 75.

Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. Jack Nelson dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Jenny Acton.