Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

McWhorter Memorial

Mars Hill Primitive Baptist Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, October 15, 2005

The annual McWhorter Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Mars Hill Primitive Baptist Church in Cleburne County, Alabama on Saturday before the third Sunday in October. Mary L. Smith brought the class to order leading 40 and 37t. Cecil Roberts offered the opening prayer. Mary L. Smith led 52t; Teenie Moody 144, 145t; Donna Bell 53, 512.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Mary L. Smith.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 138b (in memory of his uncle, Luke Allen), 68b; Lonnie Rogers 75, 112; Reba Norton 72b, 274t; Carol Chapman 317; Corene Laminack 345t, 405; Stanley Edwards 42 (dedicated to all the Cleburne County, Alabama Sacred Harp singers—past, present, and future).


Stanley Edwards brought the class back together leading 340. Leaders: Ed Thacker 548, 549; Karen Rollins 489 (for Felton Denney), 178; B.M. Smith 313t, 318; Henry Johnson 515, 341; Shelbie Sheppard 139 (for Margie Smith, Myrtle Smith, and Nancy Allen ), 28b (for Bill Windom); Hester Edwards, Eunice Webb, and Pauline Deese (Kerr descendents) 338 (in memory of Winfred Iverson); Eunice Webb 73b, 436; Oscar McGuire 336 (in memory of J.T. Pruitt), 155; George Garner 64; Jimmie Denney 101t, 348b; Bernice Holcombe 126, 426b; Eugene Forbes 143 (for his sister, who had surgery last week), 400; Judy Chambless 157, 490; John Plunkett 330b, 125.


The class resumed singing with Cecil Roberts leading 335. Leaders: Audress Gurley 325, 36b; Robert Chambless 303, 145b; Jeff Sheppard 287, 192 (in memory of his father); Shirley Hardy 452; Lou Cotney 172, 222; Lonnie Rogers 225t; Henry Johnson 330t; Eugene Forbes 186; Oscar McGuire 573; Ed Thacker 176b; Karen Rollins 503; Judy Chambless 531; John Plunkett 516; Jimmy Denney 159; Eunice Webb 499; Robert Chambless 63; Cecil Roberts 388 (by request, in honor of Jud Wheeler).

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts and Stanley Edwards led 56t as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Donna Bell.