Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chestnut Grove Baptist Church

Ider, Alabama

Sunday, October 9, 2005

The seventy-ninth session of the annual Chestnut Grove Sacred Harp singing was held on the second Sunday in October. The singing is held in memory of its founder, Elder C.G. (Uncle Tobe) Keith, and long time singing school teacher in this area, Henry Ott. Co-Chairs Loretta Smith and Amy Smith called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 37b. Billy Thompson offered the morning prayer. Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 39t.

Leaders: S.T. Reed 39b; 42; Sarah Jenkins 30t, 101t; Lauren Hall 29t, 146; Paul Figura 410t, 97; Billy Thompson 335, 445; Steve Lea 128, 551; Ed Thacker 140, 437; Henry Johnson 141, 288.


The class resumed singing with Joel Jenkins leading 82t. Leaders: Drew Smith and Isaac Akes 277, 385b; Shirley Figura 145b, 565; Mike Thompson, Susan Huff, and Ann Wallin 45t, 159; Jackson Harcrow 448t, 274t; Karen Ivey 171, 144; Jackie Tanner 36b, 73t; Betty Wright 347, 348b; Brenda Carroll 270, 299; Susan Harcrow 186, 192; Aaron Wootten 480, 48t.

Loretta Smith and Amy Smith conducted the memorial lesson and led 452 for the following deceased: Billy Jack Dalton, Bob Greeson, Willene York, Lawson Smith, Homer Thompson, Glen Ivey, Eunice Hicks, Roland Gann, Ollie Dell Harris, William Haney, Donald Kilgore, Ruby Kerby, Othell Kilgore, Bill Gifford, Gerald Wootten, Jewell Beaty, Philip Alderman, Floyd Peters, and Ronnie Meadows.

Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 457 for the following sick and shut-ins: Eliza Harris, Paul Honea, Preshis Honea, Mack McCurdy, Hubert Carroll, Fay Earwood, Jeanette Lowry, and Buddy Little. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by Jeffrey Wootten.


Lavon Wootten brought the afternoon session to order leading 32t. Leaders: Cheyenne Ivey 282; Jackie Tanner, Dathan Finlay, Angela Finlay, Jessica Finlay and Joey Finlay 47b, 388; Joey Finlay and David Ivey 87; Blake Sisemore 30b, 283; Alex Makris 405; Chris Carroll, Shawn Carroll, and Mackenzie Carroll 163t; Jared Wootten 572 (CB); Wayne Wootten 203; Reba Windom 182, 373; Norma Green 105; Eloise Wootten 99; Linda Sides 328, 225t; Marty Wootten 546; Robert Walker 393t (CB); Charles Stiefel 47t; Milton Oliver 403, 505 (CB); Cindy Tanner 269, 76b; David Ivey, Winnie Blevins, and Rodney Ivey 571 (CB), 492 (WB); Coy Ivey 486t (WB).

Following announcements, Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed with prayer.

Co-Chairs—Loretta Smith and Amy Smith; Secretary—Amy Smith.