Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New England Sacred Harp Singing Convention

The Windsor Club, Waban, Massachusetts

September 30-October 1, 2005

Friday Night, September 30

The convention was called to order at 7:30 p.m. on Friday evening by Chairman Bill Holt who welcomed everyone and led 52t. Robert Dove offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Bill Holt 59; Dennis O’Brien 287; George Pomfret 171; Ed White 268; Jesse Pearlman Karlsburg 82t; Duncan Vincent 100; David Bliss 66; Ginnie Ely 228; Tom Padua 159; Ronald Bornick 178; Steve Marini 250; Anne Kazlauskas 180; Joanne Bowman 203; Dave Eckerson 480; Victoria Bolles 35; Robert Stoddard 270; Francis Bliss 300; Sheila Girling Macadam 186; Bob Parr 542; Michael Kay 198.


The class resumed singing with Tom Malone leading 99. Leaders: Ben Bath 139; Guy Bankes 297; Susan Jaster 486; Glen Wright 48t; Margaret Bornick 477; Bruce Randall 142; Patty Cuyler 173; Edwin Macadam 528; Susan Loucks 31t; Richard Schmeidler 543; Ishmael Stefanov 183; Lyra O’Brien 313t; Joanne DeVoe 327; Ian Smiley 229; Bobbie Goodell 280; Eric Hildebrandt 236; L.H. Spencer 260; Eric Fellinger 189; Gregory Mulkern 331; Ken Matteson 86; Dean Jens 504; Cindy Bean 163b; Joanna Lampert 47b; Anayis Mampre Wright 155.

Following announcements, Bill Holt led 69t as the closing song, and the Friday evening session was dismissed with prayer led by Victoria Bolles.

Saturday, October 1

Chairman Bill Holt called the class into session with 34b. Laura Timmerman offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Bill Holt 47t; Dennis O’Brien 73t; George Pomfret 68b; Robert Dove 344; Ann Johnston 294; Paul Gauthier 455; Anayis Mampre Wright 299; Aldo Ceresa 215; Laura Timmerman 515; Rick Johnston 274b; Susan Mampre 372; Berk Meitzler 496; June Matthews 269; Chris Holly 448t; Dana Borrelli 76b; Jim Armstrong 452.


The class was called to order by Bill Holt leading 148. Leaders: Linda Shea 300; Michael Truelson 217; Jane Zanichkowsky 86; John Holbrook 339; Jessica Holland 133; Terry Ryan 171; Edwin Macadam 504; Bobbie Goodell 71; Ian Smiley 32b; Tom Malone 288; Susan Louckes 497; Lyra O’Brien 94; Gregory Mulkern 440; Dean Jens 38b; Richard Schmeidler 254.


The class resumed singing with Bill Holt leading 107. Leaders: Patty Cuyler 383; Victoria Bolles 40; Bruce Randall 209.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Ginnie Ely, who spoke of the ties of family and community which bind us together, with our common love of the music, and our sharing of our joys and sorrows. We celebrate the lives of those who have gone before us.

Tears of joy and sorrow are mingled as we remember those who have gone ahead of us. Ginnie Ely led 146 in memory of the following deceased: Bob Wood, Lt. Travis Fuller, Cornelia Wheeler, Helen Holland, Sheila MacLean, Jennie Long, Jerry Howard, and Walter Holmann—Massachusetts; Kimberly Krans, Etta Eckart, Jonathan Keith, and Laurette Elizabeth Wojcik—Vermont; Joseph Kazlauskas and Ed Davis—Connecticut; Emmanuel Fomtana—Maine; Joseph Pollock, Sr., and Harold Melcher—New Hampshire; John Hocutt—Alabama; Millie Golden and Dot Clayton—Florida; Adolph Kazlauskas, Abraham Waintrob, Irv Kass, Dean Wallace, Sr., John Kagay, Roxanna Mennella, and Nancy Levy—New York; Steve Gordon—Texas; Tom Gibney—New Jersey; Phil Tabor—Tennessee; William Reynolds—Colorado; Jeff Christensen—Minnesota; Robert Kanner—California; Jost Burkhard—Munich, Germany.

Sheila Girling MacAdam read the names of the sick and shut-ins and led 475 in their honor. As we travel through life, we often look for a sign that the troubles and dangers which sometimes beset us will pass, or may be endured. Let us be beacons to those who are in darkness today. The following sick and shut-ins were included: Richard Abrahams, Karen Rajevitz, Marian Ryan, Alison Truelsen—New York; Heidi Willis, Priscilla Baker, Grace Kelley—Vermont; Damon Cook, German Campos, Sheila Kell—Massachusetts; Edna Graf, Gloria Klee, June Behuniak—Connecticut; Hazel Walker—United Kingdom; Marian Bingley, Rita Zanichkowsky—Maine; Julie Bruner Whitten, Marianne Kaye, Catherine Donald—California; Kate Galloway—North Carolina; Thomas Shuford—Texas; Dan Lichtenwalner—Pennsylvania. Laura Timmerman offered prayer to conclude the memorial.

Leaders: Martha Long 551; Joanne DeVoe 77t. Jessica Holland offered the blessing on the noon meal.


The class was called back to order by Bill Holt leading 128. Leaders: Bob Parr 430; Linda Shea 203; Neely Bruce 350; Lynne deBenedette 168; Matthew Wojcik 216; Steve Marini 245; Ginnie Ely 196; Guy Bankes 327; Robert Stoddard 442; Sheila Girling Macadam 112; Ronald Bornick 334; Glen Wright 474; Bill Boykin-Morns 178; Dennis O’Brien 454; Laura Timmerman 302; Jesse Pearlman Karlsburg 110.


The class resumed singing with Bill Holt leading 209. Leaders: Margaret Bornick 162; Michael Kaye 553; Celia Devine 362; Ken Mattson 547; Nate Eckerson 195; L.H. Spencer 70t; Anne Kazlauskas 179; Tom Padua 145b; Eric Hildebrandt 532.

A business session was held to hear committee reports and announcements of future singings. It was noted that next year’s New England Convention will be held for the first time in Rhode Island, and will occur on Saturday, September 30, and Sunday October 1.

Leaders: Ishmael Stefanov 273; Francis Bliss 193; Joanne Bowman 434; George Pomfret 163b; David Bliss 473; Sam Amidon 122; Laura Conrad 117; Joanna Lampert 147t; Robert Dove 267; Edwin Macadam and Sheila Girling Macadam 347.

Bill Holt led 62 as the closing song while those who wished took the parting hand. Robert Dove offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bill Holt; Treasurer—George Pomfret; Secretary—Dennis O’Brien.