Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Enon Primitive Baptist Church, Houston,
Chickasaw County, Mississippi

August 27-28, 2005

Saturday, August 27

The Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention convened at Enon Primitive Baptist Church in its seventy-seventh annual session on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August for two days of worship in song service to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, when and where the following proceedings were had, to wit:

The seventy-seventh session of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by President Mark Davis with 30t. Chaplin W.M. Allen offered prayer. Brother Charles Porter, Pastor of Enon Primitive Baptist Church, welcomed everyone with remarks of memories.

Leaders: President Davis 37b, 47b; Vice President John Van Horn 111b, 373, Secretary Jean Gray 63, 418; Chaplain W.M. Allen 59, 108t.

The Business and Credentials Committee was appointed: Hugh McGuire, George Easley, and Colbert Mann.

Leaders: John Hollingsworth 109, 354t; Andrew Albers 292b (CB), 515 (CB); Chuck Howell 68b, 40; Tim Reynolds 39t, 107; Anne Steele 318, 209.


Mike McNeil brought the class to order leading 573 (CB) and 522 (CB) (in memory of Mrs. Tom May). Leaders: Joe Cobb 28b, 38b; Connie Stanton 448b, 171; Bobby Caldwell 216t (CH), 201; Hugh McGuire 452, 134 (in memory of S.T. Hawkins); Natalie Davis 45t, 354b; Billy Hollingsworth 163t (CH), 60.

The following committees were appointed: Memorial Committee—John Hollingsworth and Ester Mann; Location Committee—Henry McGuire, John Van Horn, and Bobby Caldwell; Arranging Committee—Junie McNeil and John Lee Van Horn. Mr. Alfred made a request for the singing at Antioch. Chaplain W.M. Allen returned thanks.


The singing resumed for the afternoon session with President Mark Davis leading 200. Leaders: George Easley 299, 313t; Warren Steele 436t (CB), 422t (CB); Charles Porter 137, 155; T.J. Funderburk 61, 569b; Darlene Reynolds 184 (CH); Darlene Reynolds and John Hollingsworth 117; Hugh Bill McGuire and sons (Hugh and Henry, and grandson, Drew) 36b, 460; Kurt Davis 457, 274t; Linda Funderburk 288, 143; Junie McNeil 43, 64 (CH); Andy Davis 198, 254.

President Mark Davis called for a motion to open the convention for business. Election of officers: A motion was made and seconded to elect the following officers: President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Jean Gray; Assistant Secretary—Darlene Reynolds; Chaplains W.M. Allen and Arlon Gardner. Billy Hollingsworth led 236.


The singing resumed with Henry McGuire leading 408 and 320. Leaders: Lucy Sandidg 51 (CH), 85b (CH); Mark Tew 406, 139; Drew McGuire 128, 282; Robert Earl Alexander 124, 253 (CH); Ester Mann 258 (CH), 127 (in memory of loved ones who enjoyed singings).

Announcements were made. President Mark Davis led 348b as the closing song. W.M. Allen dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 28

President Mark Davis opened the Sunday morning session with 101t, and welcomed everyone. Chaplain W.M. Allen offered the opening prayer. Leaders: President Mark Davis 126, 123t; Vice President John Van Horn 125, 129, 410t; Chaplain W.M. Allen 104, 75; John Hollingsworth 138t, 230, 250 (CH); Billy Hollingsworth 225 (CB), 507b (CB), 484 (CB); Andrew Albers 378b (CB), 178 (CB), 174 (CB); Hanna Albers 514 (CB).


The class resumed singing. Leaders: W.M. Allen and family 494; George Easley 34b, 523, 527; Chuck Howell 426b, 63,127; Colvin Mann 155, 159, 147t; Natalie Davis 345t, 345b, 388; Rhoda Albers 393t (CB).


President Mark Davis brought the afternoon session to order leading 146. Leaders: Warren Steele 326, 355, 438 (CB); Andy Davis 434, 269, 383; Lucy Sandidg 575 (CB), 392 (CB), 572 (CB); Ester Mann 168, 143, 475; Kurt Davis 87, 268; Hugh McGuire 216, 82t (CB), 90; Mark Tew 46, 338, 339.

2:00 p.m. committee reports—Memorial Committee led 347. Business and Resolution Committee reported. It was moved and second to accept all reports.


President Davis reconvened the class leading 111t. Leaders: Charles Porter 136, 460, 379; Bryan Harrison 457, 139; Hugh Bill McGuire 563 (CB), 503; Mark Davis 438, 571 (CB); Lucy Sandidg 480.

A motion was made to adjourn. Announcements were made. President Mark Davis led 62 as the closing song. Chaplain W.M. Allen dismissed the class with prayer.

President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Jean Gray.