Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 16, 2005

The ninety-first session of the Walker County Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. Velton Chafin called the class to order by leading 33b. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 31b, 30t; Corene White 379; Elizabeth Keeton 34b; Elizabeth Keeton and Ashley Keeton 504; John Hyde 275b, 124; Teddy Creel 63, 146; Wilton Donaldson 75, 100; James M. Wagner and Amanda Denson 480, 490, 65; Tommie Spurlock 84, 273; Amanda Denson and Richard Mauldin 448t, 376; Richard Mauldin 82t; Richard Mauldin and Dick Mauldin 378t; Richard Mauldin, Dick Mauldin, and John Merritt 358.


Glenn Keeton brought the class to order leading 67 and 163b. Leaders: Samantha Spiller and Josie Hyde 282, 445; Bridgett Hill 129; Kenny Graves and Butch White 30b, 77t; Pam Bates 306; Ernestine Pipkin 276; Aubrey Barfield 551, 452; Bill Hogan 270; Cindy Tanner and Flarce Creel 475; Cindy Tanner 436.

The memorial lesson was conducted. Richard Mauldin and Josie Hyde led 288 for the following sick and shut-ins: Ruth Aaron, Charles Creel, Clarence McCool, Edith Tate, Alma Clark, Vickie Aplin, and Elsie Beasley.

Richard Mauldin and Josie Hyde led 339 for the following deceased: Burson Crider, John Hocutt, Ivalene Donaldson, Sherry Guthrie, Kelly Beard, Jap Walton, Mary White, Henry George, and Olen Keeton. Harrison Creel closed the memorial with prayer.


Velton Chafin called the afternoon session together by leading 76t. Leaders: John Merritt 566; Latrive Bailey 400; Travis Keeton 392; Ashley Keeton 212; Susan Allred 112; Frank Hataway 58; Don Roberson 215; Lisa Geist 349 (for Clarence McCool); Lena Keeton 200; Willodean Barton 460; Wanda Capps 203; Earlene Watkins 299; Seth Allred 72b; Will Allred 87; Danny Creel 196; Caleb Allred 312b; Carol Fannin 503; Rachel Allred 500; Jennifer Allred 426b; Harrison Creel 498; Josie Hyde 477; Emily Creel 542; Kenneth Fannin 31b; Brenda Merritt 319; Dorothea McCowan 361; Lauren Harrison 47b; John Etheridge 338, “Mercy Seat”; Billy Williams 120.

Velton Chafin and Glenn Keeton led 521 as the closing song. Butch White offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Brenda Merritt.