Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Friendship Primitive Baptist Church

Haleyville, Alabama

Sunday, April 24, 2005

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Friendship Primitive Baptist Church was held on the fourth Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Ken Tate, who announced that this would be an all day memorial for Ivalene Donaldson, a dear friend and a true lover of Sacred Harp.

Ken Tate led 56t. Harrison Creel offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized for the day by retaining and appointing the following officers: Chairman—Ken Tate; Honorary Chairman—Wilton Donaldson; Vice Chairman—Danny Creel; Arranging Committee—Roma Rice: Secretary—Josie Hyde.

Leaders: Ken Tate 74b; Chris Ballinger 72b; Henry Guthery 39b; Cindy Tanner 312t, 276; Marlin Beasley 129; Teddy Creel 87; Corene White 379; Lucy Heidorn 155; Lisa Geist 546; Wanda Capps 144; Kermit Adams 99; Larry Ballinger 559 (CB); Glenn Keeton and Elizabeth Keeton 335, 117 (in memory of Ivalene Donaldson); Bridgett Hill 68b; Willodean Barton 270; Warren Steel 320; Amber Davis 212; Clarence McCool 490; Brenda Merritt 542; Jennifer Allred 411.


Parnell Berry called the class back to order with 283. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 50b (in memory of Ivalene Donaldson); Robert Walker 516; Will Allred 45t; Max Berueffy 456; Hugh B. McGuire 430; Gravis Ballinger 222; Danny Creel 269; Bobby Watkins 76b; Julietta Haynes 211; Earl Ballinger 215; Beth O’Dell 182; Caleb Allred 196; John Merritt and Will Allred 240 (in honor of L.E. Hannah’s birthday); Doyce Bailey 565; Rachel Allred 186; Susan Allred 77t; Harrison Creel 342; Seth Allred 39t; Travis Keeton 418.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Ken Tate leading 275t. Leaders: John Hyde 566; Steve Adams 401, 77b; Amelia O’Dell and Hannah Tate 354b; Jayne Fulmer 300; Josie Hyde 507; Ken Tate and Edith Tate 532; L.E. Hannah 85; Margaret Keeton 213b (in memory of Tom Roberson and Lola Roberson); Warren Steel 377; Will Allred 282; Billy Williams 54; Roma Rice 358 (by request); Danny Creel 475 (in honor of Flarce Creel); Teddy Creel 124; Robert Walker 477; Bridgett Hill and Amber Davis 142; Hugh B. McGuire 528; Cindy Tanner 436; Julietta Haynes 200; Bobby Watkins 138b; Beth O’Dell 189; Lisa Geist 224; Richard Mauldin 36b (in honor of his dad); John Merritt and Brenda Merritt 438; Brenda Merritt 454 (for Betsy Berry, who was sick); Jennifer Allred 383; Max Berueffy 282; Caleb Allred 452; Henry Guthery 205; Larry Ballinger 163b; Rachel Allred 216; Clarence McCool 349; Billy Williams 323b (by request).

Ken Tate and Danny Creel led 59 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ken Tate; Honorary Chairman—Wilton Donaldson; Vice Chairman—Danny Creel; Secretary—Josie Hyde.