Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Sing

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 31, 2004

The twentieth annual Sacred Harp singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas on the last Saturday of the month. This is the thirteenth year that the “1991 Revision of The Sacred Harp” has been used, and it was an excellent singing with 150 in attendance.

Dr. Tim Studstill called the morning session to order at 9:30 a.m. After a short welcome, Dr. Studstill moved that the name of the singing be changed to “William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Sing” to honor Dr. Reynolds for his lifelong contribution to church music, hymnody, and Sacred Harp singing. This was approved with a vote of acclamation. Judge Donald Ross led 59 and offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 171; Syd Caldwell 442 (for the Denson’s); Tom Owen 462; Josh Rogan 163b; Jack Whitehead 268; Scott Curran 99; Morris Nelms 28t; Jerry Ryan 111t; Leon Ballinger 460; Terre Schill 383; Vivian Rogan 282; Father Ronald Baker 148; Owen Ross 196; H.P. O’Mary 35; Michelle Rogan 110; Diane Ross 475; Sarah Huckaby 47b; Catherine Rogan 441; Myrl Jones 302; Judge Donald Ross 225t (in honor of Dr. William J. Reynolds); Barbara Moore 117; Beverly Coates 448t; Bill Caldwell 228.


Dr. Tim Studstill opened the second session by introducing the following: Secretary—Jordan DeWald; Staff—Brock DeWald, Fran DeWysockie, and Katrina Elsea. Dr. Studstill then led 81t.

Leaders: Anita Buswoll 569b; Ryan Ross 212; Esther Huckaby 224; Reed Coates 31t; Myra Palmer 318; Shannon Seyler 388; Alice Moran 480; Billy Huckaby 421; Crystal Visco 63; Nancy Powell 61; Marilyn Hughes 85; Jeff Corbett 125; Cheryl Foreman 278t; Tom Owen 347; Syd Caldwell 353. Dr. Studstill offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order. Leaders: Bruce Coates 503; Ben Brown 146; Jack Whitehead 40; Scott Curran 384; Morris Nelms 38b; Leon Ballinger 424; John Morris 491; Jerry Ryan 345t; Terre Schill 218; Barbara Moore 312b; Father Robert Baker 84; Diane Ross 128 (in honor of Dr. William J. Reynolds); Sarah Huckaby 454; Owen Ross 27; H.P. O’Mary 275b; Judge Donald Ross 331; Myrl Jones 142; Beverly Coates 358; Bill Caldwell 189; Anita Buswoll 143; Ryan Ross 276; Reed Coates 448b; Myra Palmer 208; Shannon Seyler 56b; Bruce Coates 387 (in honor of Kelly Beard); Alice Moran 178; Billy Huckaby 335; Crystal Visco 535; John Morris 565; Esther Huckaby 179; Nancy Powell 47t; Marilyn Hughes 127; Jeff Corbitt 56t; Cheryl Foreman 532; Tom Owen 426b; Syd Caldwell 434; Judge Donald Ross 198 (by request); Syd Caldwell 323b (by request); Terre Schill 323t.

Announcements were made. An invitation was extended for all to attend the twenty-first annual session next year, January 29, 2005 at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Dr. Timothy Studstill closed by leading 45t as a benediction, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dr. Timothy Studstill; Secretary—Jordan DeWald.