Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Lebanon Primitive Baptist Church, Cordele, Georgia

November 2, 2003

The eighty-fourth session of the South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 10:30 a.m. by Chairman David Grant leading 52t. Jon Robinson offered the opening prayer.

The following committees were appointed by Chairman David Grant: Arranging Committee—Oscar McGuire; Nominating Committee—Raymond Hamrick and Wesley Haley; Memorial Committee—Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks.

Leaders: David Grant 325; Oscar McGuire 75, 171; John Hollingsworth 335, 114; Jon Robinson 452, 45t; Rita Haley 63, 117; Tim Meeks 318, 491: Sharon Hamrick 460, 276; Otis Hester 542, 142; John Plunkett 330b, 285t; Bonnie Rewis 441, 496.


President David Grant called the singing back to order with 482. Leaders: Timothy Haley 299, 384; Myrtice Meeks 206, 129.

The business session was held with the following officers duly elected to serve for the coming year: President—David Grant; Vice President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary/Treasurer—Mary Brownlee; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley; Chaplain—Jon Robinson. The officers’ terms begin at the end of this session.

The singings for 2003 were reviewed. All singings were renewed for the coming new year.

Raymond Hamrick requested to speak before the convention. Permission was granted, and he presented a new singing to be held on Saturday before the third Sunday in March 2004 in Macon, Georgia at Mercer University. Hugh McGraw will teach a singing school on Friday night before. The convention unanimously agreed to support this new singing.

Treasurer John Hollingsworth presented the Treasurer’s report, which was unanimously accepted as presented. The business session was adjourned with Jon Robinson offering prayer.


President David Grant opened the session after lunch with 403. Leaders: Mary Brownlee 497, 354t; Wesley Haley 77b; Brittainy Rewis 34t, 354b; Kay Robinson 339, 155; Bob Meeks 73b, 323b; Marjorie Robinson 72b, 373; Polly Hester 490, 480; Raymond Hamrick 92, 225t; Sandra Wilkinson 282, 274t; Louanne Turner 515, 147 (t? b?).

The memorial lesson followed. Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks came forward to present the following shut-ins and led 290 in their honor: Richard Johnson, Ruth Johnson, Martha Johnson, Myra Smith, Patty Meeks Beasley, Bob Corbin, Louise Bartley, Joyce Harrison, Charles Crawford, Estelle Flowers, and Runelle Crawford (all of Georgia).

Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks led 565 in memory of those who had passed away since the last convention: Doris Haley and J.J. Sills (passed away the morning of the convention, November 2, 2003). The memorial lesson was concluded.

Leaders: John Plunkett 278t; David Grant 448t; Otis Hester 224; Sandra Wilkinson 149; Rita Haley 120.

Announcements were made. President David Grant led 69b as the closing song. He then talked about his summary of the entire Bible. He gave out copies of his outline and asked each member to read his work. Jon Robinson closed with prayer.

President—David Grant; Vice President—Oscar McGuire; Chaplain—Jon Robinson; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley; Secretary/Treasurer—Mary Brownlee.