Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New York State Sacred Harp Convention

Jacksonville, New York

October 17-18, 2003

Friday, October 17

The fifteenth annual New York State Sacred Harp Convention was held at Close Hall, Jacksonville, New York on Friday and Saturday before the third Sunday in October. Ginnie Ely offered prayer before the evening meal.

Co-Chair Eric Bean called the class to order at 7:00 p.m. with 48t. George Seiler offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Thom Metzger 34b; Scott Luscombe 39t; Jean Seiler 47t; Margaret Bornick 40; Walter Hartley 155; Susan Hengelsberg 344; Deanna Anderson 49b; Richard Schmeidler 543; Patricia Geritz 479; Michael Heyerman 270; Joy Wheeler 143; Bob Parr 528; Lucy Roberts 48t; Ginny Huszagh 181; Jerusha Wheeler 107; Eileen Metzger 178; Dan Hertzler 384.


Ginny Huszagh called the class back with 46. Leaders: Juanita Heyerman 38 (t? b?); Robert Wheeler 63; George Seiler 183; Ginnie Ely 349; John Redman 164; Anne Kazlauskas 100; Guy Bankes 189; Hal Kunkel 99; Bill Holt 73t; Tim Wheeler 48b; Ron Bornick 186; Thom Metzger 274t; Dennis Leipold 371; Howard Katz 481; Neely Bruce 362; Scott Luscombe 430; Jean Seiler 299; Ernest Blake 268; Margaret Bornick 504; Walter Hartley 236; Richard Schmeidler 84; Patricia Geritz 68b; Bob Parr 440; Joy Wheeler 569b; Dan Hertzler 475; Deanna Anderson 117; Susan Hengelsberg 474; Eileen Metzger 26; Anne Kazlauskas 126. Eric Bean offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Saturday, October 18

The Saturday morning session was called to order by Eric Bean leading 48t.

Neely Bruce conducted a singing school leading 152, 83 (t? b?), 90, 513, and 355.

Officers and committees for the convention were: Co-Chairs—Eric Bean, Thom Metzger, and Ginny Huszagh; Arranging Committee—Ron Bornick, Neely Bruce, Dennis Leipold, Richard Schmeidler, and Barbara Swetman; Housing—Lucy Roberts; Recording Secretaries—Susan Hengelsberg, Juanita Heyerman, Eileen Metzger, and Thom Metzger; Treasurer—Jennifer Cook.


The class reconvened with Thom Metzger leading 49t and Dennis Leipold leading 52t.

The singing school continued with Neely Bruce leading 143. Neely illuminated the composition of various fuguing structures by leading 223, 299, 297, 163 (t? b?), 193, 550, 304, 434, 380, 522, 536, 504, and 532. He finished the singing school by leading songs 175 and 236.

Robert Wheeler offered the closing prayer, and the class adjourned for lunch. Eileen Metzger said grace for lunch.


The class was reconvened by Dennis Leipold leading 35. Leaders: Dan Hertzler 81t; Bob Parr 215; Patricia Geritz 503; Thom Metzger 475; Richard Schmeidler 254; Juanita Heyerman 330t; Scott Luscombe 306; Walter Hartley 106; Robert Wheeler 350; Anne Kazlauskas 201; Mryka Hall-Beyer 133; Jerusha Wheeler 155; Laura Timmerman 484; John Redman and Stephanie Levy 84.

Thom Metzger conducted the memorial lesson for the deceased, remembering Hugh Anderson as well as speaking of his friend, Dave, who is now dying. He then led 385b. Those remembered were: Lavaughn Ballinger, Ruth Brown, and Elder Donald Smith—Alabama; Ron Mortimore—California; Lee Stewart—Colorado; Gary Blake and Dan Blake—Florida; Judy Wagner—New Hampshire; Hugh Anderson, Ken Coleman, Andrea Most Herman, Ethel Jones, Matt Jones, Marie Law, David Luscombe, and Hestella Yaple—New York; Dinah Breunig and John Sheldon—Vermont; Ken Madokoro—Quebec.

Bill Holt spoke for the sick and shut-ins, and led 31t in their honor. Those remembered were: Marlin Beasley—Alabama; Margaret Peckman—Florida; Donald Goliher—Illinois; Jeanette King—Maryland; Frederick Allen and Marie Barlett—Massachusetts; Kathy Guglielmi, Marie Hans, and Karl Schontz—New York; Jane Herrmann—Pennsylvania; Paul Butler—Vermont; Demian Martin—Ontario. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: Tim Wheeler 180; Ginnie Ely 196; Aldo Ceresa 122; Susan Hengelsberg 127; Hal Kunkel 342; Guy Bankes 151.


Leaders: Eileen Metzger 30t; Dennis Leipold 101t; Bill Holt 224; Chris Haller 497; Michael Heyerman 442; Deanna Anderson 159; George Seiler 480; Lucy Roberts 198; Cuba Ray 86; Neely Bruce 87; Barbara Swetman 417; Ginny Huszagh 200; Margaret Bornick 334; Eileen Metzger 108 (t? b?); Ron Bornick 454; Thom Metzger 319; Dan Hertzler 171; Jason Law 268; Jean Seiler 209; Bob Parr 456; Richard Schmeidler 120.


The class reconvened with Margaret Bornick leading 276. Leaders: Ginnie Ely 546; Aubrey Hemminger 347; Walter Hartley 146; Robert Wheeler 147b; Anne Kazlauskas 61; Mryka Hall-Beyer 277; Jerusha Wheeler 299; Laura Timmerman 27; John Redman 496; Tim Wheeler 217; Aldo Ceresa 107; Sue Hengelsberg 294; Hal Kunkel 89; Guy Bankes 444; Bill Holt 101b; Chris Haller 551; Michael Heyerman 39t; Deanna Anderson 148; George Seiler 168; Cuba Ray 401; Barbara Swetman 542; Margaret Bornick 312 (t? b?); Eileen Metzger 179; Thom Metzger 399t; Ron Bornick 178; Ginny Huszagh 66. George Seiler said grace for the noon meal.


The singing was resumed with Ginny Huszagh leading 47t. Leaders: Margaret Bornick 104, 36 (Indian Melodies); Dan Hertzler “O Turn Ye” (American Vocalist); Sue Hengelsberg 336 (CB); Bill Holt 505 (CB); Ginnie Ely 38 (CB); Neely Bruce 70 (EH); Laura Timmerman 488 (CB); Guy Bankes “Lyngham” (West Gallery); Aldo Ceresa “The Warning” (American Vocalist); Barbara Swetman 92 (EH); Laura Timmerman 381 (Harp of Ages); Denise Morris 354 (t? b?); Pat Geritz 501; Walter Hartley 452; Hal Kunkel 288; Bob Parr 114; Lucy Roberts 82t; Richard Schmeidler 474; Chris Haller 267; Tim Wheeler 191. Ginny Huszagh led 62 as the closing song, offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairs—Eric Bean, Thom Metzger, and Ginny Huszagh; Recording Secretaries—Susan Hengelsberg, Juanita Heyerman, Eileen Metzger, and Thom Metzger; Treasurer—Jennifer Cook.