Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, Near Collinsville, Alabama

August 23-24, 2003

Saturday, August 23

The one-hundredth session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August at Pine Grove Church near Collinsville, Alabama. Bud Oliver called the class to order and led 32t and 82t. Johnny Lee offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: S.T. Reed 30t; Milton Oliver 314; Max Berueffy 176b; Randall Smith 36b; Doyle Ashley 192; Betty Wright and Linda Nix 424; Hershell King 35; Mattie Townsel 68b; Pat Temple 203; Boyd Scott 58; Hubert Nall 217; Paula Oliver and Milton Oliver 354b; Eunice Webb 436; William Shetter 171; George Seiler 183; Clayton Ezell 182; Gary Smith 31t; Floyd Peters 100.


Bud Oliver brought the class to order leading 42.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Randall Smith; Arranging Committee—Max Berueffy; Memorial Committee—Henry Johnson and Becky Browne.

Leaders: Scott DePoy 47b; James Marshall 479; Lee Rogers 454; Bill Aplin 480; Alice Moran 40; Don Bowen and Syd Caldwell 353; Michelle Cull 430; Mary L. Smith 29t; Steve Warner 475; J.L. Hopper 407; Buddy Ballinger 399b; Bobby Watkins 348b; Tim Reynolds 91; Wayne Hartman 72b; Judy Mincey 497; Aubrey Barfield 283; Gordon Wilkinson 434.


Henry Johnson brought the class to order leading 108b. Leaders: Sandie Scott 472; Daryl Chesney 569b; Sandra Wilkinson 278b; Duane Chesney 85; Jeanette Lowry 260.

Susan Harcrow presented a proclamation from Ricky Harcrow and the DeKalb County Commission recognizing the 100th annual session of the Lookout Mountain Singing Convention.

Leaders: Charlene Wallace 218; Edith Tate 73t; Bridgett Hill 134; Edward Howton 318; Rodney Ivey and Kate Sweeney 426b; Dave Ressler 298; Jim Carnes 440; Johnny Lee and Mel Kersey 503; Jarrod George 270.


B.M. Smith brought the afternoon session to order leading 222. Leaders: Laura Clawson 362; Linton Ballinger 306; Jackson Harcrow 159; Tommy George 300; Blake Sizemore 388; John Etheridge 383; Harrison Creel and Cassie Franklin 512; Tommie Spurlock 376; Coy Ivey and Elene Stovall 384; Richard DeLong 224; Becky Browne 304; Reba Windom 216; Jean Seiler 299; Lynne deBenedette 411; Amber Springfield 142; Jerry Enright 168; Lisa Geist 542; Shelbie Sheppard, Susan Harcrow, and Karen Ivey 76b; Anne Heider 532; Wanda Capps and Flarce Creel 432; Lomax Ballinger 144; Philip Gilmore 448t.


Phil Summerlin brought the class to order leading 49b. Leaders: John Plunkett 564; Roy Turrentine 99; Julie Vea 195; Amanda Denson 294; Dan Huger 347; Robert Walker 452; Vicki Aplin 421; Darlene Dalton 309; Chris Noren 189; Jackie Tanner 112; LaRue Allen 200.

Announcements were made. Bud Oliver led 47t as the closing song. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 24

Bud Oliver called the class to order leading 36b. Louis Hughes offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 47t; S.T. Reed 56t; Milton Oliver 321; Randall Smith and Doyle Ashley 300; Max Berueffy 323t; Henry Johnson 138t; Johanna Fabke 84; Mary Wright 290; Sarah Smith 129; Jeff Bell 184; Judy Caudle 528; Bill Caldwell 344; Charles Franklin 74 (t? b?); Karen Freund 442; Joanne Bowman 565; Teenie Moody and Coy Ivey 384; Carol Chapman, Syd Caldwell, Don Bowen, and Tom McGraw 542; Don Bowen and Rodney Ivey 486t (WB); Anita Buswell and Syd Caldwell 73b.


Shane Wootten brought the class to order leading 101t. Leaders: William Shetter 163b; Jeannette DePoy 375; Jackson Harcrow 457; Scott Ivey 424; Paula Oliver and Milton Oliver 124; Blake Sizemore 87; Allison Ivey, Richard Ivey, Colin Neal, and Olivia Hill 30t; Dennis George 426 (t? b?); Earlis McGraw and Tom McGraw 213t; Louis Hughes 492; Mary Brinkman 313b; Bob Meek and Rob Coulston 454; Norma Green 63; Terry Hullett 203; Ivalene Donaldson and Wilton Donaldson 335; Ed Thacker 546; Alanna Blanks and Bryant Beard 478t (WB); David Carlton 377; Jewel Wootten 58.


The class resumed singing with David Ivey leading 135. Leaders: Travis Keeton 343; Richard Mauldin 66; Mike Grimes 496; David Light 110; Linda Thomas 217; Earl Ballinger 283; Daphene Causey 269; Loretta Smith 274t; Gravis Ballinger 222; Kyle Blakeley 30b; Stuart Ivey 445; Chris Rice 480; Charles Woods 530; John Hyde 275b; Joel Jenkins 37b; Billy Williams 448b; Chris Ballinger 350; Mike Thompson 59.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Bud Oliver leading 145t. Leaders: Wayne Wootten 276; Tony Ivey 229; Syble Adams 171; Loyd Ivey 97; Hobert Ivey and Loyd Ivey 426t.

Becky Browne and Henry Johnson conducted the memorial lesson. David Ivey and Rodney Ivey led 76b in memory of Lamar Smith. Becky Browne led 146 for the other deceased: Leola Smith, Virginia Bloom, Ray Bloom, Lena Barker, Ruth Brown, Lavaughn Ballinger, Charlotte Hinkle, Alpha Black, Elmer Graves, Allie Aldridge, Lucille Burkes, Clara Smith, Elder Donald Smith, and Dessie Goodman; Jim Dancer—Arkansas; David Wilkinson and Robert “Bob” Warner—California; Kenneth DeLong, Vivian Rogers, and Everette Denney—Georgia; Myrtle Meek—Kentucky; Virginia Bell—Pennsylvania; Hugh Anderson—New York; Bruce Ketelle—Tennessee; B.E. Matthews—Texas; Leon Murphy, Dean Fitzgerald, B.L. McCollum, James French, Harvey Ford, Robert Grimes, and Danny Lester.

Henry Johnson led 68b for the sick and shut-ins: Mozelle Sheppard, Beau Caldwell, I.V. McWhorter, Betty Hass, Mary Gardner, Doris Littrell, Betty Shepherd, Eldora Moody, Gary Gronau, Andra Scott, Jeanine Singleton, Donnie McGraw, Kelly Beard, Betty Hensley, Bill Green, Cathy White, Violet Thomason, Dennis Beasley, Elsie Beasley, Bob Scorgie, Lebron Hinton, Dick Mauldin, Val Eng, Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, John Hocutt, Myrtle Smith, Gerald McCurdy, Betty Hensley, Carolyn Denson, Martha Woodard, Ernie Jett, and A.A. Malone. George Seiler closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 236; Clarence McCool 349; Josie Hyde 507; Beth O’dell 560; Susan Harcrow and Marlon Wootten 43; Joan Aldridge and Reba Windom 216; Cindy Tanner 327.


Leaders: George Seiler and Jean Seiler 31t; Randall Smith and Eloise Wootten 137; Lela Crowder 328; J.W. Oliver, W.M. Oliver, Ardell Turnure, Lela Wagner, Sue Wills, Laura McGill, and S.T. Reed 85; Jonathan Blakeley 31b; Jerry Enright 77t; Reba Windom, Karen Freund, and Lynne deBenedette 172; Scot Oliver 100; Syd Caldwell and Susan Harcrow 168; Kristy Finley 73t.

Announcements were made. The Lookout Mountain Convention wishes to thank everyone who helped in any way with making this convention possible. Bud Oliver and S.T. Reed led 146 as the closing song, and those who wished took the parting hand. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Randall Smith.