Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rock Creek-Mountain Home
and Ryan Creek Convention

New Hope Church, Cullman, Alabama

Saturday, August 16, 2003

The one hundred-seventh session of the Rock Creek-Mountain Home and the one hundred-thirtieth session of the Ryan Creek Convention was held at New Hope Church in Cullman County, Alabama on Saturday before the third Sunday in August. Billy Williams opened the convention leading 33b, 47b, and 47t, followed by prayer.

Leaders: Stella Pratt 63, 100; Eldagene Roberson 144, 40; Winell Sanders 225t; David Roberson 222, 202; Ivalene Donaldson 145 (t? b?), 426 (t? b?); Richard Schmeidler 143, 66, 155; Robert Walker 143, 452.


Richard Schmeidler brought the class back to order leading 34b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.

Leaders: Brenda Peña 317, 229; Corene White 171; Josie Hyde 129, 380.

The memorial lesson was held. Josie Hyde read the list of deceased friends and loved ones who have passed away since the last convention and the list of sick and shut-ins who are unable to attend. The deceased remembered were: Charlotte Hinkle, Alpha Black, Elmer Graves, Rummon Graves, Lavaughn Ballinger, Imogene Singleton, Iva Cleghorn, Gladys Paris, Edis Guthrie, and Elder Donald Smith. Billy Williams led 73t and 231 for the deceased. Velton Chafin led 314 for Alpha Black and 183 for the following sick and shut-ins: Gladys Bonds, Elsie Beasley, Dennis Beasley, Uel Freeman, John Hocutt, A.A. Malone, Hazel Denson, Ruth Walker, and Ulys Walker. Kenneth Fannin closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: John Hyde 566, 297; Carol Fannin 47t, 122; Rachel Allred 29t, 453; Jennifer Allred 178, 49b; Gary Smith 503, 565.


Billy Williams called the afternoon session to order leading 323b. Leaders: Kenneth Fannin 115, 170; Mary Holcombe 172, 360; Sandie Scott 408, 278b; Marie Guthrie 430, 280; Caleb Allred 274t, 401; Will Allred 354b, 87; Sarah Smith 72b, 75; Susan Allred 480, 112; class 153 (for Rummon Graves).

Announcements were made. The convention will meet again in 2004 at New Hope Church, Cullman, Alabama.

Billy Williams led 299 and 62 as the closing songs. Stella Pratt offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson