Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern Wisconsin Singing

St. Francis House, Madison, Wisconsin

November 11, 1995

The ninth annual all day Sacred Harp singing was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November, and was called to order by Jim Page leading song on page 31 (t? b?). Steven Parker led the morning prayer. Leaders: Jan Ketelle 36b, 48b; Steven Parker 276, 344; Julie Vea 106, 39 (t? b?); Stephen Levine 350, 28b; Kathy Wallace 272, 171; Miles Alexander 122, 500; Denise Kania 327, 479; Anthony Reeves 273, 183; Daryl Mayberry 68b, 220; Lisa Grayson 112, 528. The class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Johanna Fabke; Chaplain—Steven Parker; Secretaries—Val Dunagan and Sandra Reynolds; Arranging Committee—Bill Waddington, Kathy Kaiser, and Jim Page; Memorial Committee—Julie Vea and Shelley Robbins.


The class resumed singing and leaders called were: Johanna Fabke 148; John Gurtz, Collette Miller, and Martha Gurtz 159; Ann Werhane 128; John Seaton 269; Bob Scorgie 291; Lissa Blood 326; Richard Popp “Ezekiel”; Kathleen Kuiper 428; Jenny Willard 68 (t? b?); Ted Johnson 425; Carol Crawford 81 (t? b?); Val Dunagan 569b; Johanna Fabke 186. The memorial lesson was held with Julie Vea leading song on page 472 for the sick and shut-in: Wisconsin—Lucille Vea, Peter Vea, and Eleanor Owens; Maryland—Camilla Haase; California—Sara Curry; Ohio—Tammy Webster and Lawrence Lavy; Illinois—Frances Giunchedi. Shelley Robbins led song on page 504 for the deceased: Wisconsin—John Snowberg and Fred Karsten; California—Louis Hoeflin; Israel—Yitzhak Rabin; Nigeria—Ken Saro-Wiwa; Alabama—Aver Crider, Kelsey Wootten, and Ruby Sheppard Gibson; Massachusetts—Fritz Holland; South Carolina—Al Hamilton; New York—Joe Beasley; Illinois—Jean Buck, Mr. Roberts, and Paul Kunzer; Texas—Coralee Hamilton. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 277; Marcia Johnson 260; Dick Dunagan 312b. Steven Parker led in prayer.


The singing resumed and leaders called were: Jan Ketelle 87; Keith Willard 108 (t? b?); Eleanor Haase 352; Kathy Krug 217; Ted Mercer 328; Collette Miller 368; Paul Foster 212; Meg Parsons 288; Jim Page “Camilla”; Connie Karduck 498; Scott Schroeder 178; Laura Shearin 216; Dean Slaton 306; John Bailey 532; Jim Parsons 218; Shelley Robbins 299; John Gurtz 448 (t? b?).


John Seaton brought the class to order leading song on page 47 (t? b?). Leaders: Julie Vea 192; Judy Hauff 187; Dee Michel 236; Ann Werhane 117; Bob Scorgie 412; Lissa Blood 38b; Jim Pfau 146; Richard Popp 300; Karen Hojnacki 198; Kathleen Kuiper 385b; Jenny Willard 163 (t? b?); Ted Johnson 142; Melanie Hauff 444; Marcia Johnson 547; Carol Crawford 79; Keith Willard 501b. Johanna Fabke led the closing song on page 62. The class was dismissed with prayer by Steven Parker.

Chairman—Johanna Fabke; Secretaries—Val Dunagan and Sandra Reynolds.