Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State University of West Georgia

Food Service Building, Carrollton, Georgia

January 5, 2003

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing at the State University of West Georgia in Carrollton was held on the first Sunday in January. The class was called to order by Myron House who welcomed everyone and led 59 and 63. B.J. Harris offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Felton Denney 49b, 73t; Charlene Wallace 217, 283; Mary Lambert Smith 421, 213 (t? b?) (for I.V. McWhorter and Hester Edwards); Josephine Denney 490; Jan House 148, 151.

The class was organized for the day with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Mary Lambert Smith; Memorial Committee—Jan House.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 225t, 318; Earlis McGraw 435, 389; Eunice Webb 512, 284; Wesley Haley 34b, 479; LaRue Allen 171, 299; Henry Johnson 535, 138t; Bud Oliver 145b, 270.


The class was called together by Felton Denney leading 343. Leaders: Lee Rogers 98, 121; Sheri Taylor 186, 29t; Scott DePoy 224, 201; Louise Holland 37b, 137; Judy Mincey 481, 474; Jimmie Denney 61, 143; Judith Green 384, 117; Jeannette DePoy 111b, 430 (for her brother, Frank Block, Jr. and Francis McDaniel); Teenie Moody 317 (in memory of Anne McWhorter), 142.


The class resumed singing with Myron House leading 105. Leaders: Bobby Jackson 445, 34t; Lori Goode 258 (?), 120; John Plunkett 486, 487.

The memorial lesson was held with Eric Tweedy leading 403 in memory of Vivian Rogers, Revy Williamson, Everette Denney, Norma House, Berta McGraw Woods, Cindy Huckeba Cole, Martha Stegar Ellis, Wilford Denney, B.E. Matthews, and Anne McWhorter.

Charles Woods led 489 for the following sick and shut-ins: I.V. McWhorter, Mozelle Smith Sheppard, Hester Edwards, Alice Edwards, Frances McDaniel, Frank Block, Jr., Lavaughn Ballinger, and Lucille Snapp. B.J. Harris closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Hugh McGraw 524; Andy Morse 178, 39t; Reba Norton 282, 480; Oscar McGuire 573, 276; Evelyn Harris 155, 129; Jeff Sheppard 540, 222 (in memory of Vivian Rogers and Everette Denney); Lonnie Rogers, Karen Rollins, Karleen Williams, and Paige Harrod 298, 112; Jeff Sheppard 340 (in memory of Everette Denney) (by request); Raymond Hamrick 136; Martha Ann Stegar 275 (t? b?), 198; Shelbie Sheppard 278t (for Moena Denney), 128; B.J. Harris 503; Lisa Webb 542, 566; Elder Homer Benefield 56t; Eric Tweedy 551; Charles Woods 223; Henry Johnson 65.

After announcements were made, Myron House and Felton Denney led 323t as the closing song. Lonnie Rogers dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.