Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State University of West Georgia

Education Center, Carrollton, Georgia

January 6, 2002

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing at the State University of West Georgia was held on the first Sunday in January. Due to remodeling in the Food Services Building, the singing was held in the Education Center.

Myron House called the class to order with songs on pages 60 and 59. The morning prayer was led by B.J. Harris. Myron House led song on page 63, and was followed by Felton Denney 50b, 73t; and Charlene Wallace 171, 177.

The business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Mary Florence Smith; Memorial Committee—Jan House and Josephine Denney.

Leaders: Philip Denney 430, 120; Reba Norton 176b, 208; B.J. Harris 503, 225t; Glenda Collins 354b, 282; Aaron Girard 39t, 299; Jan House 117, 105; Dennis George 378t, 57; Rodney Ivey 101t, 217.


The class was called together by Philip Denney leading song on page 164. Leaders: Bobby Jackson 100, 270; Henry Johnson 535, 566; Kiri Miller 442, 445; John Plunkett 540, 209; Lonnie Rogers 222, 405; Tommy McGraw 475, 33b; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Charles Woods 223, 102; Eunice Webb 460, 480; Teenie Moody 300, 410t.


Myron House called the class together with song on page 139. Leaders: Karen Rollins 143, 489; Hugh McGraw 227.

The memorial lesson was held. Felton Denney led song on page 147t in memory of the following deceased: Reba Edwards, Cecil Edwards, Oakie Austin, Freeman Wootten, and Lawrence Underwood.

Everette Denney led song on page 490 for all the sick and shut-ins. Those remembered were: Vivian Rogers, Alice Edwards, Revy Williamson, Mozelle Sheppard, I.V. McWhorter, Fannie Ray Lawrence, Polly Moore, Betty Wright, Susan Harcrow, Wilford Denney, Roy Nelson family, Marie Ivey, Coy Ivey, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, and Pearl Williamson. The memorial was closed with prayer led by Mary Florence Smith.

Leaders: Louise Holland 35, 323b; Oscar McGuire 371, 441; Jimmie Denney 145t, 145b; Josephine Denney 75, 45t; Earlis McGraw 213 (t? b?), 284; Laura Akerman 390, 532; John Plunkett, Will Witherington, and Sara Witherington 297, 354 (t? b?); Rodney Ivey and Lonnie Rogers 546; Kiri Miller 455; Aaron Girard 74b; Henry Johnson 539; Dennis George 274t; Oscar McGuire 276; Philip Denney and Gayle Denney 340; Charles Woods 378b; Eunice Webb and Reba Norton 436.

After announcements, Myron House and Philip Denney led song on page 323t as the closing song. Lonnie Rogers led the closing prayer.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.