Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Labor Day Singing

Shoal Creek Church, North of Heflin, Alabama

Monday, September 3, 2001

The annual Labor Day Sacred Harp Singing met at Shoal Creek Church, Talladega National Forest, ten miles north of Heflin, Alabama on the first Monday in September.

The class was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading song on page 36b. Elder Ricky Harcrow offered the morning prayer. Mary Florence Smith led song on page 171, followed by Josephine Denney leading song on page 30t.

The class organized for the day with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Richard DeLong; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards and Josephine Denney.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 63; Richard DeLong 132, 135; Bobby Jackson 290, 274t; Joyce Clackum 56t, 127; Don Bowen 99, 101t; Glenda Collins 354b, 45t; Everette Denney 335, 119; Jeannette DePoy 215, 235; Jimmie Denney 294, 155; Teenie Moody 142, 137; Bud Oliver 145b, 345t; Elene Stovall 300, 192; Rodney Ivey 268, 222; Flora Skinner 434, 358.


Richard DeLong called the class back to order leading song on page 81t. Leaders: Max Berueffy 145t, 528; Betty Wright 569b, 499; Felton Denney and Max Denney 523b, 143; Laura Clawson 39b, 80t; Jackson Harcrow 68b, 317; Judith Green 384, 117; David Yeager 34b, 40; Joe Jones and Sonja Randall 87.

Joe Jones of Huntsville, Alabama, Secretary/Treasurer of the Preservation Committee for Shoal Creek Church, gave a short talk on the history of the church. From collections given to the committee, the church pews were paid off and money was left to preserve the church and grounds. A collection of $95.85 from the Sacred Harp singers was presented to the committee.


The afternoon session began with Richard DeLong leading songs on pages 79 and 542. Leaders: Ricky Harcrow 517 (WB); Mandy Cummings 312b, 39b; John Plunkett 94; Rick Russell 566, 347; Laura Boyd Russell 383, 95; Flora Skinner 434; Scott DePoy 410t; Lee Rogers 349 (for Liz Bryant); Phillip Langley 440; Judy Mincey 475; Dennis George 354 (t? b?); LaRue Allen 436; Les Scott 148; Charlene Wallace 441; B.J. Harris 503; Reba Norton 373; Lela Crowder 224; Aaron Little 480; Eunice Webb 390; Lou Cotney 189; Mandy Prater 460; Amber Springfield 299; Shelbie Sheppard 269 (for the Roy Nelson family and Polly Moore).

Announcements were made. Richard DeLong and Jeff Sheppard led song on page 46 as the closing song. Elder Ricky Harcrow offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Richard DeLong; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.