Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 27, 2001

The seventeenth annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas and was dedicated to Hugh McGraw. This is the tenth year that the 1991 Revision of the Sacred Harp has been used, and it was an excellent singing with 116 in attendance.

Dr. David Music called the morning session to order at 9:35 a.m. and led song on page 59. Ronald Mitchel led the morning prayer. Dr. David Music welcomed all the singers, gave opening comments, and recognized Dr. Timothy Studstill as Chairman of the Arranging Committee and Kim Manuel as Secretary.

Leaders: Judge Donald Ross 225 (t? b?); Gary Rogan 209; Jack Boyd 63; Dan Brittain 434; Owen Ross 178; Barbara Moore 312b; Josh Rogan 300; Kelly Beard 170; Terre Schill 234; Syd Caldwell 353; Vivian Rogan 535b; Dr. David Music announced “Hugh McGraw Day”; Hugh McGraw introduced his daughter, Reesa Duke, and granddaughter, Meredith and led 45t; Diane Ross 455; Scott Curran 179; Tim Reynolds 500; Catherine Rogan 220; Father Ronald Baker 148; Emmie Morris 142; Doug Foster 341; Dr. Bill Reynolds 128; Susan Hanson 479.


Dr. Tim Studstill opened the second session by leading song on page 198. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 327; Myrl Jones 302; Tom Owen 548; Cheryl Foreman 475; H.P. O’Mary 32 (t? b?); Morris Nelms 127; Zach Rogan 282; Esther Huckaby 224; Reed Coates 222; Ernestine Pipkin 203; Bruce Coates 313b; Myra Palmer 273; Billy Huckaby 480; Beverly Coates 183; Mary Bachmann 441; Sarah Coates 362; John Morris 348b; Baron Powers 85; Mike Moseley 344; Ryan Ross 402. The class was dismissed for lunch in honor of Hugh McGraw.


Dr. David Music opened the afternoon session at 1:30 p.m. by leading song on page 155. Leaders: Hugh McGraw 146; Kelly Beard 166; Syd Caldwell 124; Judge Donald Ross 567; Dr. Bill Reynolds 49b; Jack Boyd 127; Dan Brittain 348 (t? b?); Tim Reynolds 278t; Owen Ross 454; Barbara Moore 117; Terre Schill 379; Diane Ross 504; Scott Curran 189; Emmie Morris 328; Father Ronald Baker 84; Doug Foster 89; Ryan Ross 406; Sue Hanson 523; Leon Ballinger 137; Myrl Jones 430; Tom Owen 283; Esther Huckaby 270.


Dr. David Music opened the fourth session by leading song on page 334. Leaders: Tim Studstill 72b; Ernestine Pipkin 100; Cheryl Foreman 498; Bruce Coates 503; H.P. O’Mary 335; Morris Nelms 39t; Myra Palmer 318; Billy Huckaby 56 (t? b?); Mary Bachmann 569 (t? b?); Sarah Coates 217; John Morris 31 (t? b?); Baron Powers 268; Mike Moseley 532; Beverly Coates 150; Syd Caldwell 342 (in memory of J.L. Edge, Carl Hughes, and Vedie Touchstone); Hugh McGraw 460 (requested by Syd Caldwell).

Judge Donald Ross led song on page 267 as the closing song. Dr. David Music dismissed the class at 3:30 p.m.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Kim Manuel.