Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Independence Day Singing

Muscadine Methodist Church, Muscadine, Alabama

July 4, 2000

The seventeenth session of the Independence Day Singing met at Muscadine Methodist Church on Tuesday, July 4th. Chairman Jeff Sheppard called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. with song on page 32t. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer. Jeff Sheppard led song on page 36b; B.M. Smith 182; Mary Florence Smith 63; and Margie Smith 373.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith.

Leaders: Shelbie Sheppard 269; T.J. Willard 312b; Don Bowen 99; Laura Clawson 58; Allison Dodson 348b; Bobby Jackson 378b; Jenny Willard 426b; Henry Johnson 435; Betty Shepherd 299; Ted Johnson 419; Leola Smith 111t; Louis Hughes 76b; Kelly House 475; Keith Willard 112; Diane Mennella 564; Coy Ivey 384; Nancy Allen 45t.


B.M. Smith called the class to order leading song on page 335. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 215; Glenn Keeton 117; Norma Green and Nate Green 501; Marcia Johnson 340; Reba Dell Windom 192; Henry Schuman 432; Judy Hauff 220; Max Berueffy 496; Sandie Scott 551; Martha Henderson 196; Rodney Ivey 480; Marilyn Burchett 231; Jo Schultz 198; Ricky Harcrow 142; Amber Springfield 391; Linda Sides 454.


The singing resumed with Jeff Sheppard leading song on page 123t. Leaders: Susan Green 474; John Plunkett 346; Christine Tweedy 535; Hannah Roberts 157; Eloise Wootten 186; Jesse Roberts 193; Jeannette DePoy 213t; Lonnie Rogers 222.

In observance of the holiday, Lonnie Rogers gave a short talk on the importance of this day and what it should mean to each of us. He expressed what it meant to him to be able to sing with our friends from all over the country. Jeff Sheppard led song on page 110, and Ricky Harcrow dismissed the class with prayer for lunch.


The afternoon session began with Jeff Sheppard leading song on 176b. Leaders: Phillip Langley 168; Susan Harcrow 183; Marlon Wootten 29t; Teenie Moody 298; Everette Denney 161; Eunice Webb 81 (t? b?); Lee Rogers 148; Eric Tweedy 385b; Charlene Wallace 232; Bonnie Flowers 129; Mary Lee Smith 358; Felton Denney 489; Mildred Patterson 87; B.J. Harris 503; Pam Nunn 200; David Carlton 442; Evelyn Harris 47t; Don Clark 212; Estelle Flowers 270; Lewis Norton 30b; Jessica Davis 45t; Earlis McGraw 349; Karen Buche 66; Pauline Childers 546; Laura Akerman 543; Coy Ivey and Elene Stovall 532.

Announcements were made. Jeff Sheppard and B.M. Smith led song on page 46 as the closing song. Jesse Roberts dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.