Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Zion Memorial Singing

Mt. Zion, Georgia

July 23-24, 2016

Saturday, July 23

The 124th session of the Mt. Zion Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Mt. Zion Methodist Church on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in July. Tommy McGraw called the class together by leading 30t. Jason Stanford offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Tommy McGraw 225t; Lela Crowder 34b, 100; Judy Henry 146, 33b; Winfred Kerr 144, 59; B.M. Smith 101t, 72b; Jeannette DePoy 410t, 448b; Philip Denney 87, 84; Karen Rollins 354b, 354t; Jack Nelson 524; Charlene Wallace 155, 283 (in memory of Earlis McGraw); Jason Stanford and Leela Stanford 284, 426t; Rene Greene 336, 176b.


Tommy McGraw brought the class back together leading 399b. Leaders: Rusha Wheeler 551; Daniel Williams 523, 332; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 335; 340; Dalton Lewis Dyer 472, 32t; Rebecca Over 476 (in memory of Earlis McGraw), 478; Michael Thompson 318, 426b; Donna Bell 208, 212; Mike Castleberry 515, 569b; Isaac Green 271t, 117; Richard DeLong 116, 138t.


Tommy McGraw brought the class back to order by leading 542. Leaders: Lisa Bennett 500 (in memory of Earlis McGraw), 57; Fallon Cook 564, 37b; Eric Tweedy 327, 301; Faye Hollis 460, 99.

A motion was made to go into a business session. The following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tommy McGraw; Vice Chairmen—Charles Woods and Jason Stanford; Secretary—Lela Crowder; Arranging Officer—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Rebecca Over and Richard DeLong.

Leaders: Tony Hammock 138b (in memory of Earlis McGraw), 513; Ellen Johnson 312b, 282; Charles Woods 544 (in memory of Earlis McGraw and for the Mt. Zion community), 420; John Kelso 315, 83b; David Smead 86, 468; Oscar McGuire 229, 485.

Announcements were made. Tommy McGraw led 56t as the closing song, and offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, July 24

Tommy McGraw called the Sunday session of the Mt. Zion Memorial Sacred Harp singing to order by leading 475. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Tommy McGraw 76b; Lela Crowder 421, 318; Judy Henry 283, 225t; Phillip Langley 171, 77t; Helen Bryson 131b, 492; Oscar McGuire 556; Judy Caudle 187, 437; Bill Hollingsworth 466, 65; Sheri Taylor 56t, 75; Scott DePoy 48t; Cecil Roberts 477, 138b; Riley Lee 284; Sasha Hsuczyk 60, 92.


Tommy McGraw brought the class back together leading 91. Rebecca Over made a special presentation of a history and collection of minutes to the present and future officers and singers of the Mt. Zion Memorial Singing in memory of Earlis McGraw. Leaders: Samuel Williams 107, 131t; John Hollingsworth and Bill Hollingsworth 236; Isaac Green 160t, 430; B.M. Smith 441, 448b.

Rebecca Over and Richard DeLong conducted the memorial lesson. Rebecca reminded the class about the circles of friendship and care that surround loved ones who are sick and shut-in and unable to join us at singings. The closest circle is composed of immediate family, who see their friends and loved ones every day; the next is formed of friends, who live close by and can provide support; the outer circle is made up of people too far away to be of any practical help. These are the individuals who can let loved ones know they are in thoughts and prayers with cards, letters, emails, and telephone calls, so they know that they are never alone. Rebecca read the names of the following sick and shut-ins, and led 330b in their honor: Margaret Keeton, Margaret Thacker, Ed Thacker, Judy Chambless, Robert Chambless, Geneva Prichard, Betty Shepherd, and V.A. Dyer.

Rebecca and Richard remembered Earlis McGraw’s kindness, warmth, friendship, and his tireless contribution to the Sacred Harp singing community. Rebecca read the following list of the deceased: Kermit Adams, Steve Adams, Ronald Chambless, Robert DuPree, Hester Edwards, Kenneth Fannin, S.T. Reed, and Toney Smith—Alabama; Robert DePoy, Earlis McGraw, Michele McCullough Hazard, Mattie Lou Pope, and Pete Shinn—Georgia; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Kathryn Peery—Kentucky. Richard DeLong led 278t as a tribute to Toney Smith and Earlis McGraw. Richard DeLong and Rebecca Over led 312t in memory of the deceased. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Hayden Arp 375, 196; Karen Rollins 168 (in memory of Ronald Chambless).


Jason Stanford and Leela Stanford brought the class back to order leading 159 and 491. Leaders: Michael Spencer 420, 308; Reba Windom 36b; Christian Webb 46, 294; Henry Johnson 521; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 82t; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 435 (in memory of Earlis McGraw), 150 (in memory of Toney Smith); Glenda Collins 100, 101t; Michael Thompson 37t; Charlene Wallace 155 (for Don Bowen), 28b; Winfred Kerr 45t, 89; Malinda Snow 52t, 77b; John Plunkett 544, 381; Lisa Frey and Riley 222, 224; Faye Hollis 299; Rebecca Over 353, 548; Richard DeLong 333 (for the McGraw family).

Announcements were made. Tommy McGraw and Jason Stanford led 62 as the closing song. Jason Stanford offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Tommy McGraw; Vice Chairmen—Charles Woods and Jason Stanford; Secretary—Lela Crowder