Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

March 22-23, 2014

Saturday, March 22

The 53rd session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was held the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church in Carrollton, Georgia. Karen Rollins called the class together leading 32t. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Karen Rollins and Jade Thompson 59; Charlene Wallace 155; Scott DePoy 448t; B.M. Smith 66; David Brodeur 441; Jeannette DePoy 89; Phillip Denney 120; Mike Spencer 425; Matt Hinton and family 318; John Kelso 197; Sandra Wilkinson 146; Tony Hammock 73b; Judy Mincey 474; John Plunkett 75 (for Janice Paulk); Kathy Williams 176b; John Hollingsworth 461; Mary Brownlee 183; Oscar McGuire 485; Faye Hollis 176 (t? b?); Eric Tweedy 377; Charles Woods 457; Debra Grosse 551.


Scott DePoy brought the class back to order leading 201. Leaders: Jack Nelson 180; Fallon Cook 37b; Michael Thompson 530; Leslie Booher 163b; John David Denney and Phillip Denney 84; Kathy White 159; Hayden Arp 387; Angela Myers 200 (for Pam Nunn).

A business session was held with the following officers and committee members elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairperson—Phillip Denney; Secretary/Treasurer—Charlene Wallace; Assistant Secretary—Lela Crowder; Arranging Committee—Scott DePoy, Nathan Rees, and Angela Myers; Memorial Committee—Henry Johnson and Jeannette DePoy; Finance Committee—B.M. Smith and Rodney Ivey; Locating Committee—John Plunkett, Oscar McGuire, and Bill Hollingsworth; Chaplain—Matt Hinton; Resolutions Committee—David Brodeur and Judy Mincey.

Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 365; Daniel Lee 171; Nate Green and Norma Green 479; Jesse Roberts 498; Clarissa Fetrow 187; Henry Johnson 231; Virginia Dyer 546; Nathan Rees 449; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 186; Abraham Hardy 297; Judy Caudle 421; Scott Ivey 405; Cheyenne Ivey 212; Danny Creel 383; Cindy Tanner 269; Jessica Slighter and Martin Larsen 270; Jim Aaron 503; Edna Phillips 108t (for her sister); Richard Carroll 143; Bea Aaron 568; Daniel Williams 313b.


Phillip Denney brought the class back to order leading 40. Leaders: Jonathan Wood 500; Reba Windom 472; Steve Kick 475; Eva Striebeck 480; David Ivey 273; Daphene Causey 436; Jonathon Smith 189; Karen Ivey 172; Richard Ivey 209; Laura Clawson 430; Shelby Castillo 542; Rodney Ivey 300 (for Susan Cherones); Larry Ballinger 403; Sharon DuPriest 208; Jerry Creason 497; Wanda Capps 203; Jerry Kitchens 64; Erica Hinton 228; Coy Ivey 384; Margie Smith 225t; Joyce Walton 292; Jessica Slighter and Martin Larsen 39t; Eva Striebeck 378t.


Scott DePoy brought the class back together leading 65. Leaders: Jonathan Wood, Chris Wilhelm, Danielle Maxon, and Pattie Judson 33b; Steve Kick 112; Kathy White 268; Bill Hollingsworth 489; Laura Clawson 105; Danny Creel and Cindy Tanner 222; Ann Jett, Wanda Capps, and Clarissa Fetrow 446; Abraham Hardy 347; Mary Brownlee 556; Jack Nelson 560; Edna Phillips 236.

Karen Rollins and Phillip Denney led 56t as the closing song. Billy Hollingsworth dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, March 23

The Sunday session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Karen Rollins and Karen Swenson leading 171. Scott Ivey offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Phillip Denney 73t; Nathan Rees 57; B.M. Smith 72b; Judy Chambless 209; David Brodeur 454; Judy Mincey 279; Scott DePoy 277; John Plunkett 572; Oscar McGuire 34t; Margaret Thacker 480; Eric Tweedy 301; Faye Hollis 299; Michael Spencer 382; Charlene Wallace 77t; Daniel Lee 354t; Jeannette DePoy 111b; Robert Chambless 399b; Leslie Booher 38b; Cecil Roberts 31t; Denney Rogers 143; Lela Crowder 138b; Ed Thacker 280.


Karen Rollins brought the class back to order leading 227. Leaders: Angela Myers 157; Chris Tweedy 282; Sheri Taylor 430; Jerry Kitchens 108b; Virginia Dyer 195; Michael Thompson 283; Kathy Williams 142; Nate Green and Norma Green 549; Kelly Morris 159; Grace Gilmore 542; Henry Johnson 418; Wyatt Denney 442; Fallon Cook 215; Rebekah Gilmore 383; Robert DuPree 569b.


Richard Ivey and Sumner Ellis brought the class together leading 82t. Anna Hinton led 300.

Henry Johnson and Jeannette DePoy conducted the memorial lesson. Henry Johnson read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Andy Worthington, Sharon Kellam, George Maher, Susan Cherones, Hobert Ivey, Josephine Denney, Jack Paulk, Helen Bryson, S.T. Reed, Bill Aplin, Joann Grose, Eugene Forbes, Myrline Redmon, Audress Gurley, Betty Wright, Dean Knuth, Donna Duke, and Raymond Hamrick. Henry read scripture from the book of James, reminding everyone to remember the sick and shut-ins, especially with visits. He then led 68b.

Jeannette DePoy read the following list of names of the deceased:

Reuben Ball, Jetha Brooks, Carlene Griffin, Teenie Moody, Joe Mashburn, Billie W. Driver, and Earl Dukes—Georgia; Carroll Lunsford—California; Mike Nunn, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, C.T. Williams, Lou Cotney, Genny Whitworth, Josie Hyde, Lessie Reed, and Bud Oliver—Alabama; Clayton Ezell—Tennessee; and Diane Mennella—New York. She read the words of the song on page 414, and called attention to the quote on that page that reads “a friend loveth at all times”. Lauren Bock led 414 in memory of the deceased. Matt Hinton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: John Kelso 511; Philip Gilmore 67; Linda Thomas 131b; Jonathan Wood and Danielle Maxon 428; Loyd Ivey 89.


Phillip Denney brought the class back to order leading 535. Leaders: Matt Hinton, Laura Kowalski, Brandon Hinman, and Damian Hinman 460; LeAnn Carter 82b; Jessica Slighter 547; Steve Kick 373; Eva Striebeck 481; Jonathon Smith 380; Karen Swenson 298; Laura Clawson 274t; Larry Ballinger 528; Elene Stovall 500; Scott Ivey 42; Reba Windom 411; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 156; Judy Caudle 312b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 328; Sharon DuPriest and Rodney Ivey 189; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 304; Lauren Bock 200; Daphene Causey 192; Clarissa Fetrow 433; Paula Gilmore and Philip Gilmore 512; Dirk Johnson 49b; Robby Rivers and Hugh McGraw 146; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 208; Patty Hudson and Jonathon Wood 86; Earlis McGraw 505.

The convention went into a business session to hear reports from the various committees. The Finance Report was presented by Charlene Wallace. The Resolutions Committee submitted their report. The Locating Committee reported that they received no letters of request for the convention. Unless the Chairman receives a letter of request within 60 days after the convention, the 54th session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention will be held the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March, 2015, at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church in Carrollton, Georgia. All reports were approved, and the business session was closed. Announcements were made.

Karen Rollins and Phillip Denney led 46 as the closing song. Matt Hinton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairperson—Phillip Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace