Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Hope Church Singing

Cullman County, Alabama

Sunday, June 23, 2013

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at New Hope Church, Cullman County, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday in June was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Butch White leading 34b. He then offered the opening prayer.

In a business session, the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Christopher Mann; Vice Chairman—Butch White; Secretary/Arranging Officer—Geraldine Sharpton.

Leaders: Butch White 280, 76b; Christopher Mann 32t, 31t; Delone Cobbs 47b, 354t; Nicholas Mann 97, 274t; Margie Lee 145b, 72b; Essie Hollingsworth 159, 164; Cindy Mann 312b, 332; Geraldine Sharpton 318, 542; Londa Pate 45t, 63; Buell Cobb 27, 32b; Jim Pate 535, 358.


Christopher Mann led 52t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Dylan Feezell 435 (in memory of Claude Brock), 68b; Nathan Rees 274b, 374; Jesse Karlsberg 134, 275b; Elsie Moon 454, 434; Joette Jones and Jane Knight 217, 36b, 218. Reuben Williams gave a report of the financial status of the cemetery fund, and offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Christopher Mann leading 101t. Butch White conducted the memorial lesson. He read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Doug Skinner, Verlon Moody, and Tina Dubberly. He led 86 in their honor.

The deceased list included the following names: Bud Oliver, Lessie Reed, Glenn Laminack, Steve Cobbs, and Recci Harbison. Butch White led 163b in their memory. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: Sonya Sipe 171, 127; Anna Grace Sipe 177; Nancy Tuck 371, 335; Kenneith Calvert 350, 143; Garrett Sipe 565, 30b; Susan Allred 384, 112; Carol Fannin 399b, 225t; Kenneth Fannin 436, 268; Hazel Heinze 452, 354b; Jesse Karlsberg and Nathan Rees 285t.

Following announcements, Christopher Mann led 46 as the closing song. Nathan Rees offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Christopher Mann; Vice Chairman—Butch White; Secretary—Geraldine Sharpton