Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

March 24-25, 2012

Saturday, March 24

The 51st session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was held the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia. Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg called the class to order leading 47t. Blake Sisemore offered the opening prayer. Jesse welcomed everyone and led 48t.

Leaders: John Kelso 147b; Charlene Wallace 63; Lela Crowder 421; Blake Sisemore 278t; Lauren Bock 30t; Anna Hinton 277; David Brodeur 282; Helen Bryson 392; Michael Thompson 108t; John Plunkett 111t; Michael Walker 170; Jeannette DePoy 448b; Buck Lea 564; Karen Rollins 222; B.M. Smith 284; Daniel Lee 34b; Judy Mincey 468.


John Kelso brought the class to order leading 61. Leaders: Hayden Arp 558; Mary Wright 477; Louis Hughes 408; Mary Brownlee 28b; Philip Denney 236; Kathy Williams 180; Jonathan Wood 76t; Rachel Carlisle 145t; George Burnett 81t.

A business session was held with the following officers and committee members elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Matt Hinton; Vice Chairperson—Lauren Bock; Secretary/Treasurer—Charlene Wallace; Assistant Secretary—Lela Crowder; Chaplain—Riley Lee; Arranging Committee—John Kelso, Mark Godfrey; Memorial Committee—Karen Rollins, Kathy Williams; Resolutions Committee—Michael Walker, Jeannette DePoy; Locating Committee—John Plunkett, Philip Denney, Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg; Finance Committee—B.M. Smith, Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Matt Hinton 485; Wendy Futral 35; Virginia Dyer 195; Andy Morse 240; Jenna Strizak 328; Jack Nelson 500; Lee Cooper 209; Mark Godfrey 129; Judy Chambless 29t; Harry Eskew 159; Ed Thacker 172; Eli Hinton 268; Daryl Chesney 496; Nate Green and Norma Green 415; Sharon DuPriest 434; Erica Hinton 382; Gail Doss 254; Charles Woods 110; Faye Hollis 340.


Lauren Bock brought the class back to order by leading 46. Leaders: Riley Lee 344; Ian Quinn 300; Molly Ellis 377; Becky Wright 419; Steve Kick 542; Reba Windom 196; Ben Copenhaver 486; Tony Hammock 402; Jeff Begley 467; Judy Caudle 472; Michael Walker 436; Chris Holley 285t; Pat Temple 373; Kendra Strickland 448t; Oscar McGuire 229; Margaret Thacker 68b; Cecil Roberts 31t; Phillip Langley 215; Angela Myers 384; Henry Johnson 123t; Robert Chambless 303.


Matt Hinton led 32t to bring the class to order. Leaders: Lela Crowder, Laura Lien, Chase Thomaston, and Jake Troyer 155; Janice Paulk 75; Ann Sleeva 383; Blake Sisemore and Fallon Cook 380; Shannon Primm 68t; Riley Lee and Kendra Strickland 146; Becky Wright and Chris Holley 370; Ian Quinn and Steve Kick 354t; Pat Temple and Mary Wright 39t; Judy Caudle and Angela Myers 355.

Announcements were made. Matt Hinton and Lauren Bock led 521 as the closing song. Riley Lee offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, March 25

The Sunday session of the Georgia State Convention was brought to order by Matt Hinton leading 63. Riley Lee offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Lauren Bock 36b; Charlene Wallace 129; Lela Crowder 228; John Kelso 326; Mark Godfrey 114; Jonathan Wood 454; Philip Denney 84; Lee Cooper 101t; Oscar McGuire 481; Shannon Primm 123b.


Matt Hinton brought the class back together by leading 99. Leaders: Jeannette DePoy 457; Judy Mincey 492; Robert Chambless 66; Carolyn Thompson 507; Judy Caudle 292; Ben Copenhaver 188; Molly Ellis 212; Virginia Dyer 222; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Angela Myers 108b; Riley Lee 532; Faye Hollis 283; Judy Chambless 142; Henry Johnson 539.


The class was brought back to order by Lauren Bock leading 56t. Leaders: Hayden Arp 439; Karen Rollins 97; Erica Hinton 540; Dave Brodeur 192; Kathy Williams 273; Pat Temple 33t; Eric Tweedy 270; Kendra Strickland 49b.

Karen Rollins and Kathy Williams conducted the memorial lesson. Karen reminded us that a singing group is like a family. The memorial’s purpose is to remind us of that bond. Karen read the names of the sick and shut-ins which included the following: John Grant, Cathy White, Josephine Denney, Eugene Forbes, Dr. Julietta Haynes, Charlotte Walker, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Lula Bradford, Jean Ayotte, Rebecca Over, Raymond Hamrick, Mildred McElroy, Violet Thomason, Betty Wright, and Willard Wright. She led 330b.

Kathy Williams spoke about the poignancy of remembering the deceased, especially her father and Karen’s father, who both passed away this year. She encouraged us all to remember stories about the deceased and to share them with one another. She led 267 and 343 to honor their memories. The deceased included the following: Virginia Cowart—Arkansas; Lonnie Rogers, George Holland, Susan Muse, John Shippee, Nick Griffin, Ray Richards, Luanne Turner, Jimmy Harrell, Marvin McElroy, Carlton Wilson, and Jerry Hackney—Georgia; Carol Holley—Massachusetts; John Newton Merritt—Mississippi; Tom Shultz—Ontario; Leland Owen—Texas; Marie Ivey, Travis Keeton, Corine Lacy, Kathleen Taylor George, and Annie Lee Price—Alabama; Mike Veech—Illinois. Henry Johnson closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Jane Spencer 113; John Hollingsworth 460; Mary Wright 546; Tom George 332.


Matt Hinton and Lauren Bock brought the class back to order leading 313t. Leaders: John Plunkett 446; Steve Kick 475; Dennis George 383; Elene Stovall 436; David Lee 229; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 208; Blake Sisemore and Reba Windom 216; Becky Wright 367; Michael Walker 447; Fallon Cook, Rene Greene, and Pam Nunn 269; Sharon DuPriest 189; Gail Doss 324; Michael Thompson and Joyce Walton 455; Ian Quinn 234; Susan Cherones 186; Ann Sleeva 569b; Rodney Ivey 426b; Daniel Lee 373; Sheri Taylor 438; Jeff Begley 95.


Rodney Ivey brought the class back together leading 76b. Leaders: Laura Akerman 543; Christian Webb 294; Carolyn Thompson and Azar Bagheri 47b; Jeff Sheppard 492; Riley Lee, David Lee, and Kendra Strickland 480; Ian Quinn, Ben Copenhaver, Becky Wright, and Michael Walker 200; B.M. Smith 138t.

The convention went into a business session to hear reports from the various committees. The Finance Report was given by Charlene Wallace. The Locating Committee called for a vote which resulted in a decision to hold the convention at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia, again in 2013. The Resolutions Committee submitted their report which expressed appreciation to the singers, the community, the officers, and all others who helped with the convention. All reports were approved, and the business session was closed.

Matt Hinton, Mark Godfrey, and John Kelso led 37b. Announcements were made. Matt Hinton and Lauren Bock led 62 as the closing song. Riley Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Matt Hinton; Vice Chairperson—Lauren Bock; Secretaries—Charlene Wallace and Lela Crowder