Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alaska Sacred Harp Convention

Allen Auditorium, Del Shirley Hospitality Room, Sitka, Alaska

October 25-26, 2013

Friday, October 25

The Alaska Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on Friday and Saturday before the fourth Sunday in October. Kari Lundgren introduced Deidra Montgomery of Boston, Massachusetts, as the singing school teacher. Deidra Montgomery opened the lesson by leading 171. William E. Davis offered the opening prayer. Deidra began the singing school with an overview of the rudiments from the 1991 edition of the Sacred Harp, concentrating on time, tune, and accent. She led 47t, 27, 49t, 45t, 105, 37b, and 82t as examples.


Deidra Montgomery continued the singing school with a lesson on women composers and women who have been highly influential in the development of the Sacred Harp tradition. She led 77b, 217, 448t, 128, 460, 534, 547, 99, 177, and 67 as examples of songs written by women or as being associated with dynamic women leaders. After a short discussion on the Sacred Harp community, Deidra led 344 as the closing song. William E. Davis closed the singing school with prayer.

Saturday, October 26

The Saturday session of the Alaska Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Kari Lundgren leading 171. William E. Davis offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Kari Lundgren 99; David Kriess-Tomkins 49b, 353; Denise Klinger 82t, 276; Sylvia Friske 40, 455; Ruth Sensenig 72b; Robert Sullivan 299, 528; Dorothy Robinson 497, 466; John David Thacker 59, 63; Kate Coxon 74b, 312b; Kathy Kyle 336; Cornelia Stanton 565, 87; Thom Fahrbach 102, 271t.

The following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Kari Lundgren; Secretaries—David Kriess-Tomkins and Denise Klinger; Memorial Delegate—Thom Fahrbach; Chaplain—William E. Davis.


Kari Lundgren called the class to order leading 49t. Leaders: Steve Helwig 544, 483; Tom Crane 31t, 501; Julie Strayer-Thoma 148, 370; Nicolas Lazipone 268; Deidra Montgomery 107, 133; Dan Thoma 378t, 330t; Kate Coxon 46, 35; David Kriess-Tomkins 77b, 410t; Kari Lundgren 162, 178.


Steve Helwig called the class to order leading 56t. Leaders: Sylvia Friske 159; Cornelia Stanton 73b, 479.

Thom Fahrbach conducted the memorial lesson and led 68b for the following sick and shut-ins: Stanley Smith, Shelbie Sheppard, and Susan Cherones.

Thom spoke of the deceased and led 72t in memory of the following: Jason Shaffer, Clint Buckmaster, Paulette James, and Teslin Phillips—Alaska; Jeff Sheppard and Bud Oliver—Alabama; Diane Mennella and Emily Barrett—New York; Genievere Westwick—New Hampshire; Eva Padgett—Florida; Maria Sobolewska—Poland. Dan Thoma closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Denise Klinger 354b; Robert Sullivan 313b; Mary Barrett and Deidra Montgomery 24t. William E. Davis blessed the noon meal.


Kari Lundgren called the class to order leading 146. Leaders: Steve Helwig 418, 345t; John David Thacker 47b; Deidra Montgomery 234, 48t; Dan Thoma 328, 84; Tom Crane 288, 341; Dorothy Robinson 112, 349; Sylvia Friske 39t; Tom Fahrbach 77t, 440; Nicolas Lazipone 564, 38b; Denise Klinger 551, 388.


David Kriess-Tomkins called the class to order leading 186. Leaders: Robert Sullivan 38t, 86; Cornelia Stanton 480, 318; Julie Strayer-Thoma 37b, 129; Thom Fahrbach 289, 422 (for Stanley Smith); Steve Helwig 229, 83t; David Kriess-Tomkins 277, 81t; Kate Coxon 326, 142; Dorothy Robinson 278t; John David Thacker 317; Dan Thoma 30b, 157; Kari Lundgren 344; Deidra Montgomery 475, 569t.

Committee reports were given. Kari Lundgren led 122 as the closing song. William E. Davis offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Kari Lundgren; Secretaries—David Kriess-Tomkins and Denise Klinger