Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New England Sacred Harp Convention

Byfield Community Arts Center, Byfield, Massachusetts

October 3-4, 2009

Saturday, October 3

The 34th annual New England Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Joanna Lampert leading 33b. Chris Holley offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairpersons—Joanna Lampert and Bill Holt; Vice Chairman—Justin Levi; Secretary—Jennie Brown.

Leaders: Bill Holt 52t; Justin Levi 36b; Jennie Brown 138t; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 74b; Susan Loucks 228; D.J. Hatfield 411; Susan Willett 274t; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 528; Laura Borrelli 209; Dennis O’Brien 304; Elizabeth Stoddard 229; Richard Schmeidler 254; Robert Dove 287; Ben Vincent 171; Ian Quinn 163t; Bruce Randall 327; Liz Cantrell 318; Corrone Bryant 524; John Redman 386; Anne Kazlauskas 110; Ed Smith 362; Rosemarie Yntema 183.


Dan Hertzler called the class to order leading 37b. Leaders: Jeremy Galvagni 335; Lyra O’Brien 440; John Seymansic 189; Carole Dempsey 157; Alice Maggio and Eli Hetko 47t; Paul Gauthier 428; Kathe Pilibosian 365; Mary Gowins 434; Peter Golden 198; Jim Harper 56b; Martha Rogers 270; Dana Borrelli 277; Chris Holley 268; Aram Hollman 300; Terry Ryan 163b; Julian Damashek 328; Ian Ludders 500; Bob Parr 430; Ines Lüttgen 573; Kelsey Sunderland 527; David Bliss 86; Jenny Wright 474; Stephen Marini 178. Robert Dove asked the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was called back together by Chris Noren leading 32t. Leaders: Deidra Montgomery 153; Joanne Fuller and Robin Honaker 159; Scott Luscombe 506; Kelly House 384; Dan Hertzler 306; Allison Schofield 542; Neely Bruce 553; Lynne deBenedette 426b; Aldo Ceresa 216; Guy Bankes 549; Sheila Girling Macadam 142; Jean Seiler 273; Tom Malone 187; Bobbie Goodell 287; Lauren Bock 422; Tim Eriksen 385t; Edwin Macadam 538; Diane Mennella 564; Linda Shea 371; George Seiler 99; Kyle Sansnome 315; Willis McCumber 383; Leonard Spencer 245; Ken Mattson 454.


Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner called the class back together by leading 106. Leaders: Eric Hildebrant 551; Eric Fellinger 107; Andrew Lebrun 282; Matt Wojcik 488; Chris Noren 269; Elizabeth Brownell 547; Pat Callahan 195; Jean Seiler and George Seiler 146; Mary Gowins, Deidra Montgomery, and Ben Vincent 101t; Ian Quinn and Martha Rogers 480; Dana Borrelli and Kelly House 77t.

Joanna Lampert, Bill Holt, Justin Levi, and Jennie Brown led 46 as the closing song. Kathe Pilibosian offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 4

The Sunday session of the New England Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Bill Holt leading 59. Liz Cantrell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Joanna Lampert 101t; Justin Levi 32t; Jennie Brown 283; Ron Trial 99; Kathe Pilibosian 112; Yael Tarshish 410t; Bob Parr 215; Mary Seem and Zachary Marcus 268; Andy Johnston 294; Cindy Bean 163b; Joanne Fuller 121; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 142; Lucy O’Leary 377; Susan Willett 503; Tom Malone 492; George Pomfret 455; Rachel Stevens 385b; Ian Ludders 83b; Duncan Vinson 100; Sylvia Martin 556; John Travers 49t; Patty Cuyler 428; Terry Ryan 570; Corrone Bryant 569t.


The class was brought back together by Lynne deBenedette leading 89. Elizabeth Stoddard 546; Joanne Bowman 485; James Baumgartner 454; Anne Kazlauskas 466; Willis McCumber 203; Laura Borrelli 82t.

Kathe Pilibosian led 83t for the following deceased: Beverly Jessup—California; Sandy Paton—Connecticut; John Etheridge, Ken Moran—Florida; Jimmie Denney—Georgia; Virginia Mampre—Illinois; Doris Parr—Maine; Tom Mattson—Maryland; Rose Adelaide Baker, Jodi Baldotti, Horace Boyer, Margaret Callahan, John Coburn, Virginia Flannagan, Sandra Goss, Jean Mattson, Elmer Travers, Ruth and Bob—Massachusetts; Lowell Fellinger—Missouri; Richard Altman, Bob Guida, Louis Ryan, Katherine Anne Warner—New York; Diane McFadden—Vermont; Mary LaMarca—District of Columbia.

Robert Dove shared a message from Victoria Bolles affirming the power of singing for the ill and absent friends, and led 146 for the following sick and shut-ins: Kshama Ananthapura, Victoria Bolles, Liz Celebucki, Judy Curran, Brian Fitzgerald, Sarah Leitao, Len Katz, Nancy Katzen, Karen Keller, Virginia Luscombe, Raymond O’Neill, Jim Picton, John Plunkett, Maura Robinson, Miles Schofield, Lisa Schoelles, Mae and Senior. Kathe Pilibosian closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Susan Mampre 228; D.J. Hatfield 442; Anais Wright 300; Susan Jaster 412; Chris Noren 236; Pat Callahan 344; Bobbie Goodell 28t; Bruce Randall 150; Susan Loucks 299; Jim Bean 178; Carole Dempsey 111b; Guy Banks 151; Ines Lüttgen 34t; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 196. Meredith Brown offered grace for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Tom Malone leading 97. Leaders: Matt Wojcik 302; John Redman 532; Zachary Marcus 398; Edwin Macadam 550; Lauren Bock 456; Chris Holley 155; Kelsey Sunderland 530; Richard Schmeidler 474; Scott Luscombe 353; Diane Mennella 370; Allison Schofield 419; Larry Gordon 198; Julian Damashek 220; Lynne deBenedette 29t; Aldo Ceresa 280; Liz Cantrell 441; Leonard Spencer 260; Kiri Miller 430; Sheila Girling Macadam 168; Peter Golden 176t.


Justin Levi called the class to order leading 85. Leaders: Lauren Bock and Lucy O’Leary 436; Eric Hildebrant 148; Anais Wright and Susan Mampre 497; Carole Dempsey, Ian Ludders, and Ines Lüttgen 200; Susan Willette and Susan Terhune 457; Zachary Marcus, Kiri Miller, James Baumgartner, and Mary Seem 408.

A business session was called for the purpose of hearing reports. A petition was made by singers from the state of Maine to be included in the rotation for the New England Convention in four years time (2013), following Vermont and preceding Massachusetts. The motion was passed unanimously. The secretary reported that 161 songs had been lead by 101 leaders, and that 221 singers from 14 states, 2 Canadian provinces, and the UK were in attendance. The treasurer thanked the class for collections to help cover expenses. The Resolutions Committee thanked the organizers and resolved to meet next year in Rhode Island. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Terry Ryan and Tom Malone 192; Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam 128; Cindy Bean and Jim Bean 277; Aldo Ceresa and Diane Mennella 448t; Julian Damashek, Allison Schofield, and Joanne Fuller 129; Matt Wojcik, Rosie Wojcik, Patty Cuyler, and Larry Gordon 528; Duncan Vinson, Guy Bankes, and Scott Luscombe 486; Liz Cantrell, Lynne deBenedette, and Rick Ahl 335; Chris Holley, Kathe Pilibosian, Peter Golden, and Bobbie Goodell 371; George Pomfret and Ron Trial 535; Rachel Stevens and Yael Tarshish 31t; Sylvia Martin and Joanne Bowman 569t; Jennie Brown and Justin Levi 536; Bill Holt and Joanna Lampert 434; Bill Holt 159.

Bill Holt, Joanna Lampert, Justin Levi, and Jennie Brown led 62 as the closing song. Chris Holley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairpersons—Bill Holt and Joanna Lampert; Vice Chairman—Justin Levi; Secretary—Jennie Brown