Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, DeKalb County, Alabama

Sunday, April 8, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, was held on the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Hayden Wootten and Dewayne Wootten leading 31b, 32t, 48t, and 97. The morning prayer was offered by Shane Wootten.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-chairmen—Hayden Wootten and Dewayne Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Levon Wootten 49b; Henry Johnson 230; Linda Brown and Debbie Kane 37b; Nathan Rees 425; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 408; Riley Lee 56b; Phil Summerlin 415; Eschol Hughes 348b; Jonathan Smith 129; Blake Sisemore 63; Eddie Mash 163t; Chris Carroll and Shawn Carroll 28b; Kendra Strickland 282; Linton Ballinger 385b; John Plunkett 156; Rodney Ivey 211.


The class was brought back together by Hayden Wootten and Dewayne Wootten leading 111t. Leaders: Jared Wootten 475; Stacy Wootten and David Wootten 215, 74t; David Saylors, Teresa Saylors, and Sierra Saylors 209, 245; Verlon Stiefel 490; Scott Kennedy 163b; Phillip Wootten, Stacy Pilcher, and Susan Pilcher 101t, 388, 196; Sonny Erwin 480; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 274t; Steve Killingsworth 47b; Mary Ruth Stiefel 268; Susan Cherones 107; David Killingsworth 441; Danette Townson, Raven Townson, and Dani Townson 171; Bridgett Kennedy 276; Ben Bath 546; Pam Wilkerson and Syble Adams 203, 198; Tom Owen 285t (in memory of Leland Owen).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Linda Thomas and Jeffrey Wootten.

Jeffrey Wootten spoke, remembering deceased members of the Wootten family, and read the following names of the deceased: Leonard Smith, Marie Ivey, Betty Ivey, Lonnie Rogers, Julietta Haynes, Melvin Stiefel, Leland Owen, Corine Lacy, and Eric Patterson. He led 45t.

Linda Thomas spoke on behalf of the following sick and shut-ins: Leslie Horning, Ed Coker, Virginia Coker, Thomas Cook, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Willard Wright, Betty Wright, Harrison Creel, Jewel Wootten, and Tiffany Townson. She led 499. The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Bro. Chester Shankles.

Leaders: Mel Kersey 565; Aaron Little 310; Louis Hughes 378b.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Hayden Wootten, Cole Wootten, and Dewayne Wootten leading 354b. Leaders: Donnie Simmons and Molly Wexler-Romig 312b; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 426b; Marlon Wootten 176b; Richard Ivey 432; Shane Wootten, Donna Wootten, and Eloise Wootten 456; Judy Caudle 564; Scott Ivey 556; Reba Windom 542; Susan Harcrow 500; Kelsey Sunderland 216; Steven Miller and Mona Barz 155; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Claudene Townson and family “Holy Manna”, 68b; Jerry Creason and Ann Sibole 452; Rick Foreman and Cheryl Foreman 448t; Aaron Wootten and Sarah Vaughn 73t; Jeffrey Wootten, Kennedy Wootten, and Cole Wootten 460; Jackson Harcrow and Aaron Wootten 398 (in memory of Alan Rosser); Jamey Wootten 384; Sheila Wootten, Kaylee Mann, and Karolina Mann 354b; Hobert Ivey, Sylvia Ivey, and Linda Thomas 47t; Loyd Ivey 454; Brenda Carroll, Carolyn Bullock, and Donna Ruth Durden 442; Nate Green and Norma Green 467; Marty Wootten and Lorrie Wootten 236; Terry Wootten 39b (in memory of Wootten family members); Daniel Wootten 277; Terry Wootten 500 (CB) (for Aunt Olivia); Jenny Mann 30b; Coy Ivey 465 (CB); Jenny Wootten “Sweet Beulah Land”; Karolina Mann “Jesus Loves Me”; Levon Wootten, Terry Wootten, and Dewayne Wootten “Pass Me Not”. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Co-chairmen—Hayden Wootten and Dewayne Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle