Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 29, 2000

The sixteenth annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas. This is the ninth year that the 1991 Revision of The Sacred Harp has been used, and it was an excellent singing with 85 in attendance.

Dr. David Music called the morning session to order at 9:35 a.m. and led song on page 59. Leon Ballinger led the morning prayer. After a welcome to all singers and opening comments, Dr. Music recognized Dr. Timothy Studstill as chairman of the Arranging Committee and Carla Sandy as Secretary.

Leaders: Dr. Bill Reynolds 145 (t? b?); Leon Ballinger 155; Josh Rogan 532; Owen Ross 454; Father Ronald Baker 148; Michele Rogan 178; Tim Reynolds 492; Gary Rogan 56 (t? b?); Mary Bachmann 146; Beverly Coates 183; Avon Miller 518; Vivian Rogan 84; H.P. O’Mary 335; Cheryl Foreman 66; Reed Coates 56b; Robert Handel 440; Sarah Coates 455; Tom Owen 475; Bruce Coates 34b; Esther Huchaby 270; Jeb Owen 480; Kelly Beard 206; Mike Moseley 504. Dr. David Music acknowledged the Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary students in attendance and then called on Ron Ethridge and Tommy Sandifer to help him lead song on page 49 (t? b?).


Dr. Timothy Studstill opened the second session by leading song on page 198. Leaders: Tim Reynolds 313b; Ernestine Pipkin 110; John Morris 312 (t? b?); Liz Rogan 273; Scott Curran 47 (t? b?); Baron Powers 168; Catherine Rogan 171; Kelly Beard 200; Owen Ross 304; Dr. Bill Reynolds 133; Josh Rogan 300; Leon Ballinger 490; Father Ronald Baker 117; Michele Rogan 479; Mary Bachmann 373; Gary Rogan 384. Dr. David Music dismissed the class for lunch.


After several impromptu songs were sung, Dr. David Music opened the afternoon session at 1:20 p.m. by leading song on page 40. Leaders: Beverly Coates 464; Avon Miller 542; Vivian Rogan 335; Cheryl Foreman 209; H.P. O’Mary 235; Reed Coates 112; Robert Handel 489; Sarah Coates 344; Tom Owen 163b; Bruce Coates 111b; Jeb Owen 318; Mike Moseley 135; Kelly Beard 378 (t? b?); Ernestine Pipkin 203; Baron Powers 119; John Morris 222; Liz Rogan 448 (t? b?); Tim Reynolds 278 (t? b?); Gary Rogan 299; Mary Bachmann 71; Owen Ross 31 (t? b?); Father Ronald Baker 128; Catherine Rogan 63; Leon Ballinger 269; Michele Rogan 215; Kelly Beard 379; Josh Rogan 410 (t? b?); Dr. Bill Reynolds 85; Tim Studstill 159.

Dr. Timothy Studstill asked for requests from those not leading and the following song leaders were called: Tim Reynolds 397; Josh Rogan 358; Esther Huckaby and Kelly Beard 224; Beverly Coates 225 (t? b?); Tom Owen 143; Owen Ross 268.

Dr. Bill Reynolds was then asked to lead 45t (Amazing Grace) and close in prayer.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Carla Sandy.