Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern Wisconsin Singing

Plum Grove Church, Folklore Village Farm,
Dodgeville, Wisconsin

November 13, 1999

The thirteenth annual Southern Wisconsin Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. Brad Hunnicutt called the class to order at 10:30 a.m. leading song on page 148. John Seaton led the morning prayer.

Leaders: Virginia Warren 159; John Seaton 47t; Eleanor Haase 84; Dick Dunagan 271 (t? b?); Janet Fraembs 186; Paul Wyatt 129; Lisa Grayson 278b; Gary Gronau 270; Peggy Brayfield 195; James Page “South Dakota”; Midge Olsen 66; Myles Alexander 53; Karen Hojnacki 208.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Jim Page; Chaplain—John Seaton; Secretary—Val Dunagan; Arranging Committee—Paula Goode and Johanna Fabke; Memorial Committee—Janet Fraembs and Johanna Fabke.


Jim Page called the class to order leading song on page 31t. Leaders: Suzanne Flandreau 163t; Matt Wells 196; Joyce Anderson 68b; John Bailey 318; Becky Browne 474; Jim Helke 496; Jan Ketelle 168; Mark Miller 480; Denise Kania 350; Ted Mercer 444; Carol Crawford 250; Mike Veech 547; Martha Henderson 383; Terry Hogg 473; Kiri Miller 282; Gordon Olsen 503; Shelley Robbins 143; Lee Steinmetz 163b. John Seaton led the prayer before lunch.


Brad Hunnicutt called the afternoon session to order leading songs on pages 34b, 35, and 294. Leaders: Jenny Willard 299; Val Dunagan 128; Johanna Fabke “Boulder” (composition by Ted Johnson); Donald Baker 133; Kit Pfau 32t.

The memorial lesson was held with Janet Fraembs leading song on page 472 for the sick and shut-ins. Those remembered: Bob Scorgie and Nick Fabke—Wisconsin; John Flandreau—New York; Hugh Bill McGuire, Madeleine Steele, and Bernice Embry—Mississippi. Johanna Fabke led song on page 236 for the deceased: Ursula Woodfield—New York; Janice Yokeum—Wisconsin; Ethel Klein—Florida; Maurice Faubion—Arizona. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Ted Johnson 89; Kathy Kaiser 37b; Doug Stapleton 280; Christine Stevens 146; Jim Crawford 268; Melanie Hauff 215; Keith Willard 144.


Jim Page called the class to order leading song on page 65. Leaders: Lisa Grayson 436; Dean Slaton 536; Karen Hojnacki 155; Gary Gronau 137; LaVerne Walsh 254; Julie Vea 564; Bruce Holmes 147t; Becky Browne 142; Mark Miller 320; Jan Ketelle 220; Gordon Olsen 497; Melanie Hauff 203.


Julie Vea brought the final session to order leading song on page 209. Leaders: Dick Dunagan 284; Denise Kania 99; John Bailey 145b; John Seaton 269; Jenny Willard 422; Lee Steinmetz 565; Kiri Miller 542; Ted Mercer 448b; Keith Willard 74b.

Announcements were made. Jim Page led song on page 62 as the closing song. John Seaton led the closing prayer.

Chairman—Jim Page; Secretary—Val Dunagan.