Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Maidencreek All Day Singing

Maidencreek Meeting House, near Leesport, Pennsylvania

September 4, 1999

The Berks County Sacred Harp Singers hosted the fourth annual all day singing on Saturday before Labor Day at Maidencreek Meeting House near Leesport, Pennsylvania. This date can be in either August or September, depending on the calendar.

The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Guy Bankes leading song on page 49t. Ginny Landgraf led the opening prayer.

Leaders: Guy Bankes 50b; Dennis Leipold 150; Susan Bingham 510; Gerry Hoffman 270; Gina Balestracci 173; Diane Mennella 434; Molly Sayvetz 551; Donna Abrahams 384; Roland Hutchinson 515; Ellie Soler 496; Kelly House 430; Rosemary Greenaway 203; Ted Stokes 335; Bradford West 426b; Barbara Swetman 391.


Guy Bankes called the class to order leading song on page 40. Leaders: Karen House 192; Peter Pate 302; Tom Tucker 385b; Gabriel Kastelle 567; Cathy Tucker 144; Claire Simon 66; Mary Ann Daly 38b; Guy Bankes 68b; John Hewes 342; Betty Hanf 63; Hal Kunkel 176b; Tim Wheeler 504; Joanne Devoe 178; Laura Densmore 29t; Ginny Landgraf 82t.


Charles Deering opened the class for songs from other sources by leading two songs from Harmonia Sacra 88t and 159. Leaders: Ruth Shaffer “Pottsville” and “Reading” (both in German); Gerry Hoffman “India” (own composition); Roland Hutchinson “Liberty’s Trumpet” (own composition); Doron Henkin 217. Ginny Landgraf offered the noon prayer.


Dennis Leipold called the class to order leading song on page 87. Leaders: Mary Ann Daly “Kentucky” (own composition); Dennis Leipold 376; John Hewes 410 (t? b?); Bob Todd 268; Gina Balestracci 455; Karen House 51; Daniel Henkin, Gilead Henkin, and Ben Wheeler (children’s lesson) 354b; Diane Mennella 218; Molly Sayvetz 297.

The memorial lesson was given by Susan Bingham for the following deceased: Antoinette Swetman—Alabama; Chris Randgaard—Minnesota; Don Jolly, Harry Mullikan, and Gary Parker—California; Phyllis Antos and Akram Scott—New York; Jo Durbin—Pennsylvania. Susan Bingham led song on page 454 for the deceased.

Gabriel Kastelle led song on page 34t for the following sick and shut-ins: Susan Garber and Dorothy Garber—Connecticut; Mary Middlekauf, Kristina Middlekauf, Earl Banks, and Kenny Shennard—Pennsylvania; Mia Durso and Tauheedah Scott—New York; Roland Venier—France. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by Ginny Landgraf.

Leaders: Doron Henkin 100; Ellie Soler 277; Donna Abrahams 475; Cath Oss 477; Kelly House 362; Rosemary Greenaway 361; Bradford West 282; Hal Kunkel 372.


Ted Stokes called the class to order leading song on page 444. Leaders: Laura Densmore 542; Linda Delfs 358; Betty Hanf 49b; Joanne DeVoe 47t; Ginny Landgraf 131t; Charles Deering 524; Susan Bingham 107.

A short business session was held, during which the Treasurer reported that expenses had been met. In addition to the officers, thanks were expressed to: Guy Bankes, Convener; Ginny Landgraf, Chaplain and Pitching; Susan Bingham, Memorial for the deceased; Gabriel Kastelle, Co-secretary and Memorial for the sick and shut-ins; Susan Munch, Registration; Doron Henkin, Barbara Swetman, and Diane Mennella, Arranging Committee; Doron Henkin and Bob Todd, publicity; Betty Hanf, site selection and preparation; Pat Pingel, set-up; Ted Stokes, hospitality and after singing social. Announcements were made of upcoming singings.

Leaders: Barbara Swetman 33b; Doron Henkin 446; Gerry Hoffman 236; Roland Hutchinson 473; Tom Tucker 400; Gabriel Kastelle 500; Cathy Tucker 106; Tim Wheeler 70 (t? b?); Claire Simon 276; Mary Ann Daly 545; Dennis Leipold 32b; John Hewes 260; Bob Todd 163b; Gina Balestracci 518; Karen House 448b.

Guy Bankes led song on page 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed with prayer led by Ginny Landgraf.

Chairman—Betty Hanf; Treasurer—Ruth Shaffer; Secretary—Molly Sayvetz.