Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Muscadine Methodist Church

Muscadine, Alabama

July 5, 1999

The sixteenth session of the Independence Day Sacred Harp Singing met at Muscadine Methodist Church on Monday, July 5th. The class was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading songs on pages 36b and 57. S.T. Reed led the opening prayer. Shelbie Sheppard led songs on pages 142 and 28b (to honor Bill Windom); Margie Smith 373; and Mary L. Smith 171.

The class organized for the day with following officers retained: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 186; Kenneth DeLong 316; Pearl Guier 208; Gordon Olsen 344; Ann Leckie 216; S.T. Reed 177; Becky Browne 269; Bill Waddington 299; Karen Hojnacki 91; Felton Denney 503; Louise Nelson 350; John Plunkett 33b; Jeanette Lowry 349; Keith Willard 127; Allison Dodson 45t; Thomas Willard 378t.


Jeff Sheppard called the class to order leading song on page 61. Leaders: David Lee 282; Martha Henderson 455; Howard McGuire 192; Martha Beverly 430; Reba Dell Windom 542; Roy Nelson 434; Joe Schultz 532; Matt Wells 318; Laura Russell 319; Rodney Ivey 475; Midge Olsen 362; Johnny Lee 100; Don Clark 99; Jenny Willard 460; Rick Russell 183.


Terry Hogg called the class to order leading song on page 49b. Leaders: Lynn deBenedette 274t; Oscar McGuire 573; Cassie Franklin 528; Bill Beverly 86; Karen Freund 77t; Nate Green and Norma Green 231; Louis Hughes 492; Elene Stovall 217.


The afternoon session began with Jeff Sheppard leading song on page 129. Leaders: Coy Ivey 63; Cindy Franklin 368; Henry Johnson 326; Charlene Wallace 365; Milton Oliver 224; Mildred Patterson 119; Jack Smith 145t; Laura Akerman 189; Lonnie Rogers 222; Leola Smith 234; Homer Benefield 56t; Judy Mincey 540; Jackie Tanner 112; Martha Ann Stegar 479; George Garner 454; Bonnie Flowers 369; B.J. Harris 303; Lee Rogers 298; C.W. Garner 159; Estelle Flowers 436; Bobby Jackson 81t; Don Bowen, Elene Stovall, and Rodney Ivey 270; Katharine Manning 327; Rene Greene 196; Liz Bryant 377.


Jeff Sheppard called the class to order leading song on page 440. Leaders: Rick Russell and Laura Russell 276; Keith Willard and Jenny Willard 297; Gordon Olsen and Midge Olsen 236; Bill Beverly and Martha Beverly 300; Bill Windom and Reba Dell Windom 137; Karen Freund and Lynne deBenedette 278t; Matt Wells and Bill Waddington 481; Martha Henderson 480; Karen Hojnacki 198; Johnny Lee and David Lee 47b; Katharine Manning 376; Terry Hogg 114; Joe Schultz 178; Cindy Franklin and Jackie Tanner 76b; Norma Green and Nate Green 123t; Billy J. Harris and Evelyn Harris 47t.

Announcements were made. Jeff Sheppard led song on page 46 as the closing song. Roy Nelson dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.