Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

May 16, 1999

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church was held on the third Sunday in May. The class sang songs on pages 61 and 45t; B.M. Smith 59, 81 (t? b?); Jeff Sheppard 91; Pearl Guier 127, 49t; Alice Edwards 104, 73b; Milton Oliver 75, 32 (t? b?); Lewis Norton 124, 30b; Jimmie Denney 101t, 313t; Lamar Smith 76b, 36b; Lou Cotney 222, 497; C.W. Garner 348 (t? b?), 332; Carlene Griffin 146, 270.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Arranging Committee—Pearl Guier; Memorial Committee—Ruth Brown.


B.M. Smith called the class to order leading song on page 123b. Leaders: Howard McGuire 269, 192; Mary Lee Smith 294, 358; Randall Smith 48t, 73t; Sonja Randall 87, 335; Harvey Austin 566; Roy Nelson 145t, 145b; Sylvia Holland 217, 426b; Bud Oliver 426t, 47t; Karen Reaves 457, 410t; George Garner 480; Evelyn Harris 155, 159.

Ruth Brown gave the memorial lesson and based her comments on a poem she read. The following deceased were remembered: Bobby Hale, M.F. Smith, Margie Edwards, Fairy Kerr, John Brown, Rosa Lee Owens, Cleo Barker Clay, Herman Smith, Florence Williams, Jim Keel, Adrian Watson, and Gerald Watson. Louise Owen and Hester Edwards led song on page 339 for the deceased, and song on page 128 especially for Margie Edwards.

Felton Denney led song on page 31t for the sick and shut-ins who are many. The memorial was closed.

Charles Norton gave a report on the cemetery.


The class resumed singing with B.M. Smith leading songs on pages 37b and 28b. Leaders: Henry Johnson 147t, 338; Louise Holland 63, 323b; Everette Denney 137, 119; Ora Martin 340, 349; Bernice Steadman 313t, 408; Felton Denney 489, 503; Ginnie Prater 373, 392; Ruth Daniel 378t, 39b; Pam Nunn 186, 216; B. J. Harris 303, 225t; Shelbie Sheppard 142, 277; Cecil Edwards 491, 112; Sherrell Durand 405, 384; Jeff Sheppard 439 (in memory of Jerry Sheppard), 434 (in memory of Lola Jenkins), 114.

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith led song on page 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Everette Denney.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Secretary—Hester Edwards.