Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Poplar Springs Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia, off Hwy. 100

May 28, 1995

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing was held the fourth Sunday in May at Poplar Springs Baptist Church. Mironel Swafford called the class together leading song on page 32 (t? b?). The morning prayer was led by B. J. Harris. Mironel Swafford then led song on page 345 (t? b?), followed by Kenneth Mize leading songs on pages 49b, 388; Charlene Wallace 90, 129; Carlene Griffin 85, 77 (t? b?); Mary Florence Smith 108 (t? b?), 274 (t? b?). The class was organized for the day by electing the following officers: Chairman—Mironel Swafford; Vice Chairman—Kenneth Mize; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging and Memorial Committee—Carlene Griffin and Mary Florence Smith. Mironel Swafford led song on page 155. Leaders: Don Bowen 37b, 59; Alice Edwards 73b, 565; Jerry Sheppard 475, 470; Kathy Spanglehour 117, 344; Elder J. J. Aderhold 72b, 75.


The class was called together by Mironel Swafford leading song on page 30 (t? b?). Leaders were: Florence Williams 569b, 490; B. J. Harris 445, 503; Revy Williamson 225 (t? b?), 327; Margie Smith 101 (t? b?), 335; Johnny Wright 124, 277; Lonnie Rogers 186, 298; Evelyn Harris 47 (t? b?), 48 (t? b?); Phillip Langley 299, 269; I. V. McWhorter 109, 424; Everette Denney 127, 405. The pastor of the church, Rev. W. A. Ivie, welcomed everyone and dismissed for lunch with prayer.


The class resumed singing with Kenneth Mize leading song on page 45 (t? b?). Leaders were: Delores McGraw 57, 79; B. M. Smith 276, 284; Norma Latham and granddaughter, Mia Makris, 358, 147 (t? b?). For the memorial lesson Lonnie Rogers led songs on pages 143, 490, 348 (t? b?) in memory of Mrs. Doris Bailey, Zera Mize, Vera Hughes, Effie Mize, Ross Chambers, Clellon Warren, Lessie Cates, Nora Finley, Helen Ivey Cordell, and Louise Henson. For all the sick and shut-ins Judy Mincey led 34 (t? b?), 50b. Moena Denney closed the memorial with prayer. Leaders were: Debra Langley 317, 120; Elder Lewis Norton 318, 39b; Fallon Dyer 146; Theo Waddell 340, 290; Lydia McGraw 40, 63; Virginia Dyer 294, 222; Luke Allen 141, 111 (t? b?); Louise Allen 81 (t? b?), 123 (t? b?); Mildred Patterson 313 (t? b?), 319; Elder Homer and Katherine Benefield 373, 56 (t? b?). After announcements were made, Mironel Swafford and Kenneth Mize led page 480 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lonnie Rogers.

Chairman—Mironel Swafford; Vice Chairman—Kenneth Mize; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.