Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

August 16, 1998

The one hundred-ninth session of the Cleburne County Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church near Heflin, Alabama on the third Sunday in August, and was called to order by Chairman Cecil Edwards leading song on page 87. The morning prayer was led by Lonnie Rogers.

The Introductory Lesson was led by B.M. Smith leading songs on pages 101t and 284, and by Lonnie Rogers leading songs on pages 410t and 278b.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Vice Chairman—Harvey Austin; Secretary and Memorial Committee—Mary Lambert Smith; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Harvey Austin 100, 335; Mary L. Smith 61, 288; Jimmie Denney 123t, 143; Reba Norton 282, 275b; Jimmy Cates 63, 112; Nancy Allen 45t; Everette Denney 277; Carlene Griffin 155, 448b; Carol Arrington 268, 117; Margie Smith 501b, 494; S.T. Reed 495, 421.


The singing resumed with Cecil Edwards leading song on page 186. Leaders: Don Bowen 474, 540 (for Judy Mincey); John Plunkett 447, 289; Sherry Louvorn 146, 373; John Daniel delRe 49b; Evelyn Harris 47t, 225t; Bud Oliver 32t, 73t; Kelly Macklin 195, 57; Alice Edwards 104, 73b; Leyland delRe 56b, 433; B.M. Smith 28b (for his mother, Lula Smith), 475.

The memorial lesson was presented by Mary Florence Smith, and the names of those remembered were: Herman Smith, Cleo Clay, Nettie Davis, Clyde Atkinson, Velma Denney, Alvin Stanson, Luke Allen, Kim Cagle, Jerry Sheppard, Janet Borman, Myreeta Hardin, Dola Hiett, and Mae Seymour. Shelbie Sheppard led songs on pages 38b and 147t for the deceased.

Felton Denney led 285t for all the sick and shut-in. The memorial was closed with prayer led by Mary Florence Smith.


The afternoon session was called to order by Cecil Edwards leading songs on pages 75 and 78. Leaders: Henry Johnson 138b, 338; Karen Reeves 339, 457; Jeff Sheppard 367, 380; Teenie Moody 37b, 36b; Milton Oliver 321, 176t; Betty Wright 347; Billy Joe Harris 303, 503; Shelbie Sheppard 484; Felton Denney 299, 523b; Corene Laminack 459, 334; Roy Nelson 392, 432; Lewis Norton 208, 490; Lonnie Rogers and Sherry Louvorn 137 (for Virgil Phillips), 348b; Mary F. Smith 323b (by request); Kelly Macklin, Leyland delRe, and John Daniel delRe 212, 388.

After announcements were made, Cecil Edwards and Harvey Austin led 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lewis Norton.

The Convention will meet at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church again in 1999 on the third Sunday in August.

Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Vice Chairman—Harvey Austin; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.