Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Zions Rest Primitive Baptist Church, Jasper, Alabama

Saturday, July 18, 1998

The eighty-fourth session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention met July 18th at Zions Rest Primitive Baptist Church. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading song on page 33b. The morning prayer was offered by Glenn Keeton. Velton Chafin led song on page 30t.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate; Arranging Committee—Cecil Sanders; Memorial—Cynthia Franklin and Brenda Merritt.

Leaders: Cecil Sanders 225t; A.C. McGough 454, 390; Travis Keeton 306; A.A. Malone 565; Coy Ivey 63, 155; Cecil Gilliland 273, 335; Gene Wakefield 168, 138 (t? b?); Brenda Merritt 187, 336; Estes Jackson 396, 33t; J. A. Mosley 75, 204; John Merritt 503, 358; Elmer Conwill 216, 110.


The class was reassembled by Glenn Keeton leading songs on pages 285 (t? b?) and 212. Leaders: Patricia Mauldin 45t, 268; Lena Keeton 432; Odie Horton 149, 48t; Jackie Tanner 172, 222; Willodean Barton 290; Mae Conwill 74b; Paul Gilliland 490, 176b; Ada Godsey 301; Aubrey Barfield 480, 269; Richard Mauldin 40, 36b; Roma Rice 93; John Etheridge 114; Mattie Townsel 145b, 137; Norma Latham 405, 418; Joshua Keeton 189, 408; Ila Ingle 434, 436.


The class resumed singing with Travis Keeton leading song on page 341. Leaders: Delores Canady 178, 277; Pam Keeton 215, 220; Ashley Keeton 142, 421.

At this time the memorial was held with Brenda Merritt and Cynthia Franklin leading song on page 404 for the following deceased: Vernice Calvert, Charley McCoy, Keterina Sanders, Hadyn Creel, Mamie Creel, Mae Seymour, Ozetta Gilliland, Jerry Sheppard, Clifford Wakefield, W.M. Adkins; Juanita Coffee, Myreeta Hardin, Kim Cagle, Mariann Hoobler, and Bob Fannin.

For the following sick and shut-in, Cynthia Franklin and Brenda Merritt led song on page 340: Elsie Beasley, Ruth Aaron, Tressie Atkins, Thurman Nall, Mary Gardner, Hugh McGuire, Emma Lou Grayson, Virgil Phillips, and Ruby Phillips. The memorial was closed with prayer by John Merritt.

Leaders: Josie Hyde 280; Winston Jones 47b; Cynthia Franklin and Flarce Creel 171, 475; Cassandra Franklin 217; Edith Tate 532; Clarence McCool 349, 328; Bud Oliver 73t, 39b; Louis Hughes, Sr. 448t, 34b; Lauretta Price 313t; Azilee Adams 337; Kenneth Fannin 30b; Margaret Keeton 332; Ottis Sides 97, 318; Harrison Creel 167; Ann Ballard 317, 319; Charles Kitchens 326, 90; John Hyde 61.

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton led song on page 62 as the closing song, and the session was closed with prayer by A.C. McGough.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Edith Tate.