Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest
Sacred Harp Convention, Oregon

Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon

October 15-16, 2022

Saturday, October 15

The Oregon session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Emma Swartz called the class to order leading 31t. Rosie Sokolov offered the morning prayer.

A business meeting was held, and the following officers were elected: Chairperson—Emma Swartz; Treasurer—Dorothy Robinson; Secretary—Nancy Novotny.

Leaders: Nancy Novotny 171; Betsy Jeronen and Sarah Berry 564; Steve Cackley 560; Ana Tighe 228; Scott Kennedy 546; Dorothy Robinson 506; Steven Golob 122; Jennifer Jones 101t; Dorothy Mitchell 66; Greg Saue 163b; Pat Nida and Cornelia Stanton 345b; Jenna Tompkins 165; Molly Staley 146; Lyle Lindsey 276.


The class was called back to order by Kate Fine leading 384. Leaders: Ruth Linehan 492; Thom Fahrbach 464 (in memory of Ted Mercer); Caroline Helmeczi 440; Jeff McLeod 229; Carrie Walker 448t; David Schmitt 56b; Leah Coffin 397; Kristofer Ilex 421; June Thomasson and David Wright 312b; Sumie Arnold 313b; Julia Zaffarano 274t; Ian Suchon 58; Bridge Hill Kennedy 32b; Hannah Field 133; Brian McKee 30t; Marla Elliott 269; Peter Schinske 432; Jane Cannon 349; Tom Payne 48b.


The class was called back to order by Marie Brandis leading 39t. Leaders: Nell Whitman 99; Carolyn Gilkey 504; Pat Coghlan 91; Dolan Dolan-Wolfe 95; Laura McMurray 39b; Matthew Porter-Valbracht 335; Rosie Sokolov 532; Anne Huckins 474; Chris Noren 236; Lucinda Larsen Saue 178; Mischa Skeeter 159; Sara Ng 388; Kathy Vlach 273. Rosie Sokolov offered the noon prayer.


The class was called back to order by Betsy Jeronen leading 47t. Leaders: Evelyn Lamb 353; Mark Miller 417; Sophia Schinske 217; David Brodeur 336; Erik Schwab 266; Kathy Manning 498; Alex Forsyth and Rachael Geary 142; Kevin Beirne 411; Gillian Inksetter 380; Jonathon Smith 505; Linnea Sablosky 290; Kevin Barrans 235; Stephanie Fida 548; Andy Ditzler 216 (in memory of Ted Mercer); Wren Hyde 522; David Wright 181; Lindy Groening 189; Bob Schinske 204; Emma Swartz 383; Kate Coxon, Sam Coxon, and Ana Tighe 176b; Jeff McLeod 100.


The class was called back to order by Nancy Novotny leading 30b. Leaders: Leah Coffin 193; David Schmitt 344; Kate Fine 477; Thom Fahrbach 166; Dorothy Robinson 207; Caroline Helmeczi 139; Jenna Tompkins 149; Peter Schinske 472; Julia Zaffarano 436; Carolyn Gilkey 503. Emma Swartz led 36b as the closing song. Rosie Sokolov offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 16

The Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Convention, Oregon, was brought to order by Emma Swartz leading 48t. Rosie Sokolov offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Kate Fine 77b; Nancy Novotny 399b; Evelyn Lamb 433; Brian McKee 475; David Brodeur 200; Rachael Geary 101t; David Schmitt 81t; Linnea Sablosky 306; Jonathon Smith 131b; Bridge Hill Kennedy 37b; Kevin Beirne and Penny Henzel 34t; Stephanie Fida 88b; Andy Ditzler 517; Gillian Inksetter 572; Alex Forsyth 76b.


The class was called back to order by Marie Brandis leading 29t. Leaders: Sophia Schinske and Logan Thomas 328; Kathy Manning 377; Chris Noren 209; Marla Elliott 547; Sumie Arnold 163b; Wren Hyde 270; Bob Schinske 123t (in memory of Kim Phelps); Carrie Walker 370; Kevin Barrans 430; Lindy Groening 396; David Wright 150 (in memory of Steve Helwig); Rosie Sokolov 329; Tom Payne 73t; Kristofer Ilex 128; Erik Schwab 89.


The class was called back to order by Jane Cannon leading 129. Leaders: Steven Golob 415; Sara Ng 40; Kathy Vlach 143; Kate Coxon, Sam Coxon, and Lindy Groening 480 (for Linda Berkemeier); Ian Suchon 196; Pat Coghlan 492.

Kate Fine spoke for the following sick and homebound and led 330b: Jim Van Horn, Linda Berkemeier, Jodi Ditmore, Gretchen Saue, Dan Fahrbach, Abigail Chipley, Dean Nida, Kelsey Taylor, Janice Seibel, Karen LaBonté, Jackie Bryant, Philip Denney, Virginia Dyer, Mike Greene, Chris Kermiet, Joey Pipia, Eric Holt, Martha Leff, and Gary Leff.

Jennifer Jones conducted the memorial lesson and read the following names: Laurie Hester, Tim Hertzler, Kimberli Ransom, Russ Tomlin, Carol Kelley, and Kim Phelps—Oregon; John David Keil, Solomon Ossa, Ellen Wrede, McKinsey Van Buren, and Kelsie Clarkson—Washington; Katie Holldber and Joanne Cone—California; Dorothy Lane and Timothy Aldridge—North Carolina; Beverly Nelms and Landis Powell—Texas; Elder J.L. Hopper, Joan Aldridge, and Renee Latham—Alabama; Sue Bunch—Florida; Graham DeZarn—Virginia; Ted Mercer—Illinois; Daniel Davis—New Mexico; Ralph Kemp—Maryland; Larry Gordon—Vermont; Merv Horst—New York; Clare Maher—Pennsylvania; Judy Toole—Tennessee; Barbara Monahan—Rhode Island; and Wendy Morton—Tennessee. Jennifer Jones led 369 in memory of the deceased. Rosie Sokolov offered a prayer for the sick, the homebound, and the deceased.

Leaders: Steve Cackley 489; Hannah Field 271t; Scott Kennedy 455. Rosie Sokolov offered the noon prayer.


The class was called back to order by Stephanie Fida leading 445. Leaders: Caroline Helmeczi 224; Jonathon Smith 428; Alex Forsyth 272; Gillian Inksetter 454; Andy Ditzler and David Brodeur 245; Evelyn Lamb 214; Kevin Beirne 203; Linnea Sablosky 67; Bridge Hill Kennedy 192; Kevin Barrans 177; David Schmitt 468; Kathy Manning 365; Thom Fahrbach 283; Sophia Schinske 56t; Brian McKee 500; David Wright 327.


The class was called back to order by Gabe Benton and Andy Ditzler leading 72b. Leaders: Ruth Linehan 282; Peter Schinske 228; Laura McMurray 101b; Ana Tighe 573; Julia Zaffarano 215; Lyle Lindsey 384; Jenna Tompkins 318; Anne Huckins 142; Emma Swartz and Nico Swartz 187; Nancy Novotny 373; Dolan Dolan-Wolfe 108b (for Isaac Dolan-Wolfe); Penny Henzel and Rosie Sokolov 417; Dorothy Mitchell 287; Molly Staley 49t; Dorothy Robinson 47b; Rachael Geary 426t; Marie Brandis 212.

Emma Swartz reopened the business meeting to hear committee reports. The Secretary reported one hundred fifty-three registered singers from eleven states and Canada, one hundred five leaders, and one hundred sixty-three songs sung. The Treasurer reported that all expenses had been met, and thanked the singers for their generosity.

A gift was presented to Jonathon Smith to thank him for his singing school presentation on Friday evening. The Resolutions Committee (Stephanie Fida and Gillian Inksetter) offered thanks to Marie Brandis for arranging, and to all who contributed to a smooth-running convention; the Committee then resolved to convene again next year. The business meeting was closed. Announcements were made.

Emma Swartz led 62 as the closing song. Rosie Sokolov offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Emma Swartz; Secretary—Nancy Novotny