Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest
Sacred Harp Convention, Oregon

Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon

October 19-20, 2019

Saturday, October 19

The 28th annual Oregon session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Thom Fahrbach and Betsy Jeronen called the class to order leading 448b. Bradley Knoke offered the morning prayer.

A business meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Betsy Jeronen; Treasurer—Linda Berkemeier; Secretary—Nancy Novotny.

Leaders: Kate Fine 77b; Chris Noren 32t; Kate Fortin 72b; Doug Hill 306; Ruth Linehan 171; John Berendzen 544; Sophie Sokolov 70t; Lyle Lindsey 34b; Melissa Stephenson 479; Bruce Rowland 452; Julia Zaffarano 28b; Dan Thoma 53; Rosie Sokolov 38b; Craig Wiley 81t; Jon Rand 385t.


The class was called back to order by Bradley Knoke leading 145t. Leaders: Jesse Partridge 313t; Hannah Field 118; Brian McKee 344; Jennifer Jones 285t; Nicole Scott 114; Julius Pasay 70b; Laura McMurray 387; Jeff Laub 339; Hannah Blair 335; Steve Tarr 297; Anne Huckins 143; Matthew Porter 313b; Clarissa Fetrow 181; Soloman Ossa 383.


The class was called back to order by Marie Brandis leading 399b. Leaders: Kathy Vlach 338; Susan Fetcho 212; Nancy Novotny 428; Pat Coghlan 485; Linda Selph 432; Emma Swartz 402; Edward Rice 89; Leigh Cooper 270; Carolyn Gilkey 474; Steve Cackley 121; Leah Coffin 193; Jack Lofton 475; Aisha Morgan, Adam Morgan Berey, and Boaz Allen-Berey 178; Bob Schinske 439. Bradley Knoke offered the noon prayer.


The class was called back to order by Mark Miller leading 312t. Leaders: Emily Ross 217; Erica Martinez 216; Peter Schinske 454; Lindy Groening 316; Mike Hinton 534; Erika Wilson 505; David Brodeur 368; Andy Ditzler 542; Gillian Inksetter 377; Kevin Beirne 349; Stephanie Fida 220; John Wiens 376; Sophia Schinske 192; Kevin Barrans 112; Wren Hyde 480; Adam Morgan Berey 309; Mark Godfrey 271t; David Wright 224.


The class was called back to order by Sadhbh O’Flynn leading 319. Leaders: Kate Coxon 214; Betsy Jeronen 564; Dave Barber 426b; Karen Willard 108b; David Fetcho 522; Erik Schwab 129; Carolyn Deacy 456; Phil Owen 59; Linda Berkemeier 35; Ana Tighe 573; Karl Oswald 569b; Erika Wilson 498; Bruce Rowland 75; Kate Fortin 209; Carolyn Gilkey 347; Jesse Partridge 358; Adam Morgan Berey 99; Andy Ditzler and David Brodeur 558; Thom Fahrbach 317. Betsy Jeronen led 539 as the closing song. Bradley Knoke offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 20

The Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Betsy Jeronen leading 47t. Julie Thoma offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Steve Cackley 31b; Cornelia Stanton 99; Craig Wiley 229; Lyle Lindsey 86; Jean Murphy 380; Kate Fine 391; Laura McMurray 77t; Hannah Field 66; Julius Pasay 48t; Rosie Sokolov and Sophie Sokolov 290; Doug Hill 73t; Thom Fahrbach 283; Sadhbh O’Flynn 411.


The class was called back to order by Emily Winokur and Lior McNamara leading 29t. Leaders: Chris Noren 507; Ruth Linehan 350; Bradley Knoke 398; Ana Tighe 30b; Dan Thoma 162; Jennifer Jones 567; Rodman Campbell 214; Anne Huckins 142; Nancy Novotny 423; Clarissa Fetrow 275t; Peter Schinske 304; Melissa Stephenson 207; Jack Lofton 550; Kathy Vlach 472.


The class was called back to order by Wren Hyde leading 36b. Leaders: Bob Schinske 546 (for Kelly Kennedy and Gina Marquez); Carolyn Deacy 224; Brian McKee 148; Nell Whitman 228; Jeff Laub 496; Nicole Scott 500.

Ruth Linehan spoke for the sick and housebound, and read the following names: Dorothy Robinson, Roni Robbins, Greg Meier, Michael Medema, Kevin Sigvaldsen, Melanie Hauff, Melanie Yolles, Ray Fida, Quinn Stanley, Gary Miller, Linda Miller, Michael Kean, Art Maddox, Marci Cutler, Carol Basch, Gina Marquez, Pat Coghlan, Larry Lord, Norma Mincey, Judy Mincey, Gloria Barber, and Cindy Dymond. Ruth Linehan and Steve Cackley led 330b for the sick and housebound.

Steve Cackley conducted the memorial lesson, and read the following names: Lois Ost Saue—Washington; Ethel Tison Chaffin, Robbie Rivers, Charlene Wallace—Georgia; Eugene Forbes, Rozlyn Greene, Ottis Sides—Alabama; Hughes Albanel—France; Ronald Berkheimer, Ima Rowland, Dot Choppy, Concetta Branson—Oregon; John Beirne—Ireland; Paul Wilson—Minnesota; Doug Webb—Texas; Michael Appert—Illinois; Amy Brown—England; Brenda Kitt—California; Gordon Ekelund—Canada; Suzanne Zaffarano—Iowa; Paul Green—Pennsylvania; Elaine Zidek—Ohio; and Joyce McGhee—Missouri. Steve Cackley and Ruth Linehan led 176t in memory of the deceased.

Leaders: Gillian Inksetter 61; Kevin Barrans 39b. Julie Thoma offered the noon prayer.


The class was called back to order by Nancy Novotny leading 445. Leaders: Dave Barber 361; Lindy Groening 302; Edward Rice 460; Emily Ross 384; Erik Schwab 538; Emma Swartz 272; David Fetcho 245; Stacey Berkheimer 441; Mark Godfrey 215; Andy Ditzler 236 (in memory of Charlene Wallace); Erica Martinez and Octavia Hamamoto-Sandman 208; Kate Coxon 530; Kevin Beirne 532; Susan Fetcho 417; Mike Hinton 340; Linda Berkemeier 143; Marie Brandis 352; David Brodeur 91.


The class was called back to order by Sophia Schinske leading 33b. Leaders: Stephanie Fida 156; Julia Zaffarano 442; David Wright 383; Leah Coffin 133 (for Inder Khalsa); Sarah McGreevy and Chris Noren 117; Leigh Cooper 542; John Wiens 375; Wren Hyde 201; Hannah Blair 501; Sophia Schinske 499; Steve Tarr 218; Karen Willard 128; Aisha Morgan 87; Linda Selph 430; Ethan Hardy 404.

A business meeting was held to hear committee reports. The Arranging Committee and Secretary reported one hundred sixty registered singers from eleven states and Canada, eighty-three leaders, and one hundred sixty-two songs sung. Linda Berkemeier gave the Treasurer’s report, and thanked the singers for their generosity.

A gift was presented to Andy Ditzler and David Brodeur to thank them for their singing school presentation on Friday evening. The Resolutions Committee (John Wiens and Cornelia Stanton) offered thanks to all who contributed to a smooth-running convention, and resolved to convene again next year. Announcements of upcoming singings were made.

Betsy Jeronen led 36b as the closing song. Julie Thoma offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Betsy Jeronen; Secretary—Nancy Novotny