Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, Collinsville, Alabama

August 24-25, 2019

Saturday, August 24

The 116th annual session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order by Scot Oliver leading 82t. The opening prayer was offered by Henry Johnson. Scot welcomed the singers and visitors to Pine Grove.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 421; Judy Caudle 61; Winfred Kerr 283 (for Rebecca Over); Mike Hankins 168; Jerusha Wheeler 434; Jim Aaron 47b; Lomax Ballinger 144; Nate Green and Norma Green 84; Henry Johnson 70b; Judy Chambless 37b; Jeremiah Ledbetter 277; Samuel Williams 54; Pat Temple 373; Hubert Nall 203; Earl Ballinger 212; Phil Summerlin 276.


Rodney Ivey led 345b to bring the class back together. Leaders: David Smead 272; Ron Harper 52b; Jeannette DePoy 129 (for Collin Royster); Buell Cobb 97; David Hufstetler 457; Kathy Williams 222; Bea Aaron 441; Paula Oliver 500; Ed Thacker 280; Mary Wright 495; Reba Windom 318 (in memory of Eloise Wootten and B.M. Smith); Daniel Lee 411; Wayne Jones 159; Elene Stovall 426b (for Don Bowen); Linton Ballinger 314; Nathan Rees 101t; Daniel Williams 505; David Ivey 336; Ainslie Allen 76b; Jonathon Smith 110.


The class was brought together by Scot Oliver and Arleigh Beard leading 100. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 151; Lisa Bennett 456; John Stiefel 128; Cheyenne Ivey 335; Amber Davis 192; Shane Wootten 387; Meredith Turner 35; Zack Lindahl 227; Susan Cherones 349; Jesse Latimer 383; Linda Thomas 73t; Jim Brown 268; Larry Brasher and Louise Brasher 513; Joyce Morton and Mary Ruth Stiefel 358; Mairye Bates 148; Cindy Tanner 436.


The class was brought to order by Rodney Ivey leading 42. Leaders: Robert Chambless 72b; Ron Harper 440; Nathan Rees 200; Mary Wright 546; Zack Lindahl 77t; Phil Summerlin 270; Jesse Latimer 56b; Pat Temple 59; Susan Cherones 460; Alanna Blanks and Arleigh Beard 405; Samuel Williams 163t; Daniel Lee 34b; Hillevi Lasen 33b; Jonathon Smith 458; David Smead 567; Jeremiah Ledbetter 112; Jerusha Wheeler 245; Jeannette DePoy 306; Daniel Williams 201; Wayne Jones 496; Kathy Williams 273 (in memory of Louise Holland and Bud Oliver); Meredith Turner and Lisa Bennett 216; Winfred Kerr 36b; Mairye Bates 384; Robert Chambless 77b (for Charlene Wallace); Rodney Ivey and Reba Windom 30b.

Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey led 521 as the closing song. Ron Harper offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 25

The Sunday session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Scot Oliver leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Elwin Thomas.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 39b (in memory of Marie Ivey); Judy Caudle 67; Cindy Tanner 129; Wayne Jones 565; Ed Thacker 532; David Light 436; Mairye Bates 344; Daniel Lee 77b; Winfred Kerr 225t; Nate Green and Norma Green 112; Butch White 547; Loretta Whitman 343; Jeremiah Ledbetter 285t (for Mark Carroll).


Rodney Ivey led 56t to bring the class together. Leaders: Larry Brasher 47t; Henry Johnson 206; John Stiefel 74t.

Shane Wootten, Karen Rollins, and Kathy Williams, Board Members of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company, recognized Darrell Swarens and presented a plaque honoring his dedicated service and support of Sacred Harp and the Sacred Harp Community. They led 208 in his memory.

Leaders: David Ivey 120; Jamey Wootten 144; Karen Rollins 489; Zack Lindahl 101b; David Hufstetler 490; Matt Hinton 422; Jackie Tanner 314; Hillevi Lasen 102; Louise Yeager 480; Pat Temple 232; Lottie Hinton 276; Ainslie Allen 460; Shane Brown 297; Cheyenne Ivey 432; Alanna Blanks and Arleigh Beard 155.


The class was called to order by Rodney Ivey leading 111t. The memorial lesson was held at this time. Linda Thomas read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Collin Royster, Don Bowen, Tim Gregg, Sony Erwin, Charlene Wallace, Judy Mincey, Norma Mincey, Jewel Wootten, Wilburn Ellison, Ottis Sides, Linda Sides, Coy Ivey, Boyd Scott, Wayne Reed, Adrian Jones, Edna Graves, Jerry Kitchens, Velton Chafin, and Brenda Chafin. Shane Wootten read from second Corinthians, encouraging others to offer comfort to those in need.

Linda Thomas read the following list of names of the deceased: Ruth Daniel, Eugene Forbes, Martha Daugherty Reynolds, Mike Jones, and Willodean Thrash—Alabama; Mildred Patterson and Susan Roberts—Georgia; Janet Machado—California; Paul Luther Wilson—Minnesota. Shane read John 14, verses 1-3. Shane and Linda led 499. Ed Thacker closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Mary Wright 477; Paula Oliver 358 (for Boyd Scott); Elene Stovall 172; Jeannette DePoy 111b; Reba Windom 269 (for Sharon DuPriest), 454 (for Rozlyn Greene); Susan Cherones 300; Amber Davis 402; Linda Thomas 217; Shane Wootten 430 (for Tommie Spurlock); Shane Wootten and Elene Stovall 99 (for Marlon Wootten and in memory of Bud Oliver); Kathy Williams 209. Shane Brown asked a blessing before the noon meal at the tables.


Jeremiah Ledbetter began the afternoon session by leading 145t. Leaders: Jerusha Wheeler 107; Joyce Morton and Mary Ruth Stiefel 36b; Cindy Tanner and Margaret Keeton 187; Zack Lindahl 189; Pat Temple 39t; Lottie Hinton 277; Matt Hinton 503; Mairye Bates 142; Mary Wright 312t; Winfred Kerr 378t (in memory of Ruth Daniel); Daniel Lee 278t; Jeannette DePoy and Rodney Ivey 328; Hillevi Lasen 122; Kathy Williams 371; Reba Windom 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Judy Caudle 426t (for Loyd Ivey); Rodney Ivey 228 (for Joan Aldridge). Announcements were made.

Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey led 146 while those who wished took the parting hand. Zack Lindahl offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Scot Oliver; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Caudle