Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Capitol City Shape Note Singing

Loeb Reception Center, Montgomery, Alabama

Thursday, July 18, 2019

The 33rd annual Capitol City Shape Note Singing was held on the third Thursday in July, beginning at 9:30 a.m. Bill Hogan brought the class together by leading 71. Joey Brackner welcomed the singers on behalf of the Alabama Center for Traditional Culture. Michael Panhorst welcomed everyone for the Landmarks Foundation of Montgomery. Bill led 36b. Hubert Nall offered the morning prayer.

The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition Leaders: Gary Padgett 442; Wayne Jones 30b; Mary Huffman 32t; Ewan Eddins 300; Wendy Anderson 145b; Cory Winters 222; Dana Eddins 503; Winfred Kerr 225t; Jack Nelson 318; Ewan Eddins 107; Richard Mauldin 43; Ann Riley 142; Rebecca Over 370.

Colored Sacred Harp Leaders: Bill Hogan 67 (CoSH); Steve Grauberger 4 (CoSH); Joey Brackner 24 (CoSH); Richard Mauldin 87 (CoSH); Rebecca Over 5 (CoSH); Dana Eddins 84t (CoSH); Nancy Hogan and Bill Hogan “Give Me Just A Little More Time”.


B.F White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition Leaders: Wayne Jones and Nancy Hogan 464 (CB); Barbara Jones 140 (CB); Eric Eddins 174 (CB); Cathy Maddox 358 (CB); Emily Eddins 436t (CB); Wayne Jones 504t (CB); Mary Huffman 497 (CB); Rebecca Over 269 (CB); Michael Panhorst 159 (CB); Wendy Anderson 500 (CB); Eli Eddins 553 (CB); Gary Padgett 486 (CB); Eric Eddins 78 (CB).

The Christian Harmony Leaders: Richard Mauldin 106 (CH); Eddie Pierce 250t (CH); Kevin Eddins 107 (CH); Mary Huffman 354 (CH); Evie Eddins 326 (CH); Bill Hogan 54 (CH); Rebecca Over 316 (CH). Kevin Eddins gave thanks for the lunch time meal.


The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition Leaders: Bill Hogan 287; Gary Padgett 377; Jonathan Blakeley 73t; Pearl Guier 448b; Hubert Nall 176b; Stephen Huffman 37b; Dana Eddins 133; Deborah Boykin 282; Wendy Anderson 283; Edith Eddins 178; Elam Eddins 474 (for Kevin Eddins).

B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Edition Leaders: Ann Riley 478 (CB); Stephen Huffman 505 (CB); Elliott Eddins 146 (CB); Winfred Kerr 89 (CB); Richard Mauldin 100 (CB); Ewan Eddins 297 (CB); Cathy Maddox 143 (CB); Elam Eddins 594 (CB); Ezra Eddins 447t (CB); Wayne Jones 395b (CB); Jonathan Blakeley 393 (CB), 285t (CB).

The Christian Harmony Leaders: Jack Nelson and Ken Milner 113 (CH); Gary Padgett 349 (CH); Eric Eddins 89 (CH); Bill Hogan 264 (CH); Eddie Pierce 369 (CH); Kevin Eddins 273t (CH); Mary Huffman 81t (CH); Evie Eddins 245 (CH); Rebecca Over 131 (CH).

After the announcements Bill Hogan led 76b (CSH) as the closing song. Bill offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—Gary Padgett; Secretary—Nancy Hogan