Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Kermit Adams and Steve Adams Memorial Singing

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Double Springs, Alabama

Saturday, June 22, 2019

The Kermit Adams and Steve Adams Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Nicholas Thompson leading 82t and 100. The opening prayer was offered by Tom Booth.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Vice Chairman—Jerry Kitchens; Secretary—Christie Allen; Arranging—Margaret Keeton.

Leaders: Lauren Allen 81t, 178; Ewa Lichnerowicz 278b, 545; Nancy Phillips 215, 159; Jim Aaron 448t, 47b; Bea Aaron 80b, 568; Linda Booth 222, 489; Mary Huffman 276, 569b; Brenda Chafin 168, 430; Butch White 74b, 535; Tim Gregg 101t, 105; Tom Booth 499, 480.


Nicholas Thompson led 200 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Christie Allen 29t, 300; Mike Hankins 34b, 155; Chris Parris 112, 454; Chris Rice 384, 426t; Stephen Huffman 31t, 371; David Jackson 37b, 39b; Henry Guthery 280, 176b; Warren Steel 211, 424; Theresa Westmoreland 396, 455. Greg Allred asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Lauren Allen leading 76b. Leaders: Susan Allred 183, 340; Carolyn Thompson 428, 236; Greg Allred 452, 36b; Aubrey Fannin and Chloe Fannin 64, 448t (in memory of Caleb Allred); Gary Glover 335, 82t; the Fannin family (Carol Fannin, Mary Holcombe, Laura Hale, Susan Allred, Aubrey Fannin, Greg Allred, Jennifer Allred Lee, Rachel Pirkey, Brodie Lee, Harper Lee, Chloe Fannin, Ailyn Pirkey, and Christian Pirkey) 390, 146 (in memory of Kenneth Fannin and Caleb Allred); Ryan Hale 192, 405; Chris Bell 30t, 391 (in memory of Sandra Spradlin); Rachel Pirkey 209; Mary Holcombe 378b, 385b; Carol Fannin 108t, 145b; Jennifer Allred Lee 203, 142; Loretta Whitman 81t (for Nellie Alexander); Margaret Keeton, Roma Rice, Loretta Whitman, Louise Yeager, Betty Sue Claborn, and Carolyn Pipkin 426b (in memory of Elzo Godsey), 410t (for Lorene Gray); Nicholas Thompson 196, 99 (in memory of Steve and Kermit Adams).

Nicholas Thompson and Lauren Allen led 62 as the closing song. Tom Booth dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Vice Chairman—Jerry Kitchens; Secretary—Christie Allen