Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

H.R. Avery Memorial Singing

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Daviston, Alabama

Sunday, February 10, 2019

The class was called to order by Jack Nelson and Ansley Christmas leading 32t and 480. Elder Ben Keeble offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Winfred Kerr 314, 225t; Oscar McGuire 34b, 171; Bill Hogan 338, 456; Ted Price 523, 441; Ansley Christmas 45t, 300.

The class convened in business session. Charlotte Bishop made a motion to keep the same officers as follows: Chairman—Jack Nelson; Vice Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Secretary—Sharon Whitehead; Arrangements—Jordan McGuire. The motion carried. The business session closed.


Jack Nelson brought the class back together by leading 399b. Leaders: Stanley Smith 302, 500; Karen Clark 501, 534; Jack Nelson 524, 504; Amber Davis 82t, 192.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Jack Nelson led 155 in memory of Eugene Forbes, Mike Jones, and Darrell Swarens. Jack Nelson led 560 for Mattie Perry, Nellie Estes, and Frances Treadwell (living daughters of H.R. Avery).

Leaders: Robbie Anderson, Wendy Anderson, and Will Anderson 35, 36b; Jasmine Anderson 456 (OSH); Cecil Roberts 138b, 163b.


Jack Nelson, Ansley Christmas, Julie Wood, and Maggie Wood brought the class back to order by leading 514 (CB). Leaders: Lynda Fagan 75, 82b; Charlotte Bishop 229 (CB), 196; Douglas Hubbard and Lynda Fagan 159, 288; Sharon Whitehead 112, 186; Carla Hudson 61, 358; Jordan McGuire 354t, 143; Ben Keeble 39b, 490; Jack Nelson 269; Shane Brown 165; Amber Davis 30b; Stanley Smith 358 (by request in memory of Cora Dean); Bill Hogan 29t; Ted Price 28t; Lynda Fagan 587 (CB); Oscar McGuire 515; Jack Nelson and Ansley Christmas 515 (CB); Karen Clark 274t.

Following announcements, Jack Nelson led 46 as the closing song. Elder Ben Keeble offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Jack Nelson; Vice Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Secretary—Sharon Whitehead