Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rivanna River Singing

White Hall Meeting House, Crozet, Virginia

Saturday, September 8, 2018

The 16th annual Rivanna River All-Day Singing was called to order by Beverly Yaeger leading 34b. Two books were used, The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition and The Shenandoah Harmony (ShH). Elections were held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Vice Chairman—Chris Wolf; Treasurer—Judy Cahill; Secretary—Beverly Yaeger. The opening prayer was offered by Adrienne Robertson.

Leaders: Adrienne Robertson 59; Chris Wolf 171; Judy Cahill 87; Mary Helen Dupree 117; Matt Ference 455; Pat Temple 33t; Les Updike 515; Ateven Snderson 472; Kathy Kaiser 277; Jim Strube 354t; Brenda Dunlap 89; Bev Yaeger 48t; John delRe 101b; Kelly Macklin 82b; Ben Hartland 42; Chris Wolf 130 (ShH); Hillary Miller and Adrienne Robertson 334; Judy Cahill 421; Mary Helen Dupree 215; Matt Ference 112.


The class was called back together by Matt Ference leading 207. Leaders: Pat Temple 232; Les Updike 124 (ShH); Ateven Snderson 127 (ShH); Chip Tucker 86; Judy Cahill 282; Kathy Kaiser 75 (ShH); Jim Strube 214 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 7b (ShH); Bev Yaeger 45 (ShH); Ben Hartland 21 (ShH); John delRe 17 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 308 (ShH); Chris Wolf 381 (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 293b (ShH); Richard Green 12b (ShH); John Alexander 4t (ShH); Frances Schutz 504; Pat Temple 72b; Les Updike 296 (ShH); Ateven Snderson 313t; Kathy Kaiser 163t; Jim Strube 148; Brenda Dunlap 74b; Bev Yaeger 431 (ShH); Ben Hartland 171 (ShH); John delRe 65t (ShH); Kelly Macklin 167 (ShH). There was an announcement from the Treasurer thanking attendees for their generosity and calling for a little more. A blessing was offered before lunch by Adrienne Robertson.


The class was called back to order by Diane Ober leading 264b (ShH). Leaders: Brenda Dunlap 77 (ShH); Matt Ference 260t (ShH); Adrienne Robertson 198; Richard Green 260b (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 310 (ShH).

The memorial lesson was conducted by John Alexander. The class sang 317 for the following sick and shut-ins: Karen Rollins, John Barrett Watson, Martin Kaiser, Matt Roberts, and Lisa Null.

The class sang 33b in memory of the following deceased: Brooks Broadwater, Lucy Lamp, and Hattie Crebbs—Virginia; Julie Vea—Wisconsin; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Bill Matles—New Jersey; Laura Schmania—North Carolina; Randolph Green—Georgia; and Charles Bennett—Missouri.

Leaders: Kelly Macklin 334; Ateven Snderson 79; Kathy Kaiser 29t; Jim Strube 254 (ShH); Bev Yaeger 29b; Ben Hartland 178 (ShH); Pat Temple 146 (ShH); John delRe 40 (ShH).


The class was called back together by John Alexander and Diane Ober leading 241 (ShH). Leaders: Kathy Kaiser, Ed Norman, and Dave Gardner 47b; Adrienne Robertson and Mark Mumford 242 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap, Richard Green, Jim Strube, Mary Helen Dupree, and Martha Burns 446t (ShH); Adrienne Robertson and Chris Wolf 122 (by request); Chris Wolf, Thomas Mann, and Hannah Mann 266 (ShH); Ateven Snderson 324; Jim Strube 268; Bev Yaeger 142; Richard Green 183 (ShH); Pat Temple and Les Updike 373; Ben Hartland 414t (ShH); Hannah Mann and Chris Wolf 140b (ShH); John Alexander and Hayden Ardrey 22b (ShH); Kelly Macklin 80 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 246b (ShH); John delRe 70t (ShH).

Resolutions were offered by Adrienne Robertson, thanking the kitchen volunteers (Barbarie Hill and Judy Cahill), pitching volunteers and officers. Announcements were made.

Adrienne Robertson led 157 (ShH) as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Alexander.

Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Vice Chairman—Chris Wolf; Secretary—Bev Yaeger