Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Lebanon Primitive Baptist Church, near Cordele, Georgia

November 2, 1997

The seventy-eighth session of the South Georgia Singing Convention was called to order by Richard Johnson, Chairman, leading song on page 59. The opening prayer was offered by Mr. Jon Robinson.

The following committees were appointed by the chairman: Mary Brownlee and Jon Robinson—Arranging Committee; Raymond Hamrick and Wesley Haley—Nominating Committee; Marjorie Robinson and Rita Haley—Memorial Committee.

Chairman Richard Johnson led song on page 63. Leaders: Jon Robinson 339, 335; Rita Haley 128, 72b; Timothy Meeks 361, 274t; Polly Hester 47t, 405; Myrtice Meeks 373, 129; Otis Hester 108t, 99; Bonnie Rewis 313 (t? b?), 454; John Hollingsworth 37b, 77 (t? b?); Timothy Haley 334, 282; Sharon Hamrick 460, 100, 276; Patti Collins 206, 318.


Leaders: Richard Johnson 172; Wesley Haley 117, 137; Georgia Ann Corbin 473, 340; Mary Brownlee 47b, 231.

Chairman Richard Johnson called for the business session. Raymond Hamrick represented the nominating committee and presented a slate of officers for the coming year. Those nominated were: Richard Johnson—President; Timothy Meeks—Vice President; Rita Haley—Secretary/Treasurer; Joyce Harrison—Assistant Secretary/Treasurer; Jon Robinson—Chaplain. These officers were duly elected. The new officer’s terms began at the close of this convention.

Next in business, the singings for the coming year were reviewed and changes made. The convention asked for recognition of delegates from other singing associations. Lebanon Church was thanked for hosting this annual event. Treasurer Rita Haley presented the financial report. It was accepted as presented. The business session was then closed.


Richard Johnson opened the afternoon session leading song on page 273. Leaders: David Grant 494, 417; Bob Corbin 341, 323 (t? b?); Doris Haley 565, 569 (t? b?); Lamar Robinson 358, 490.

A memorial service was held at this time. Rita Haley announced the following deceased which are all from Georgia: Mary Ruth Cox, Joe Laminack, Douglas Bartley and his mother, Mrs. Bartley. Myrtice Meeks led songs on pages 491 and 45t for those deceased.

South Georgia shut-ins included: Gertrude Bateman, Mildred Dumas, Sara Akin, Ruth Johnson, Martha Johnson, Venie Faith, and Barry Wilkinson. Rita Haley led songs on pages 361 and 297 for those mentioned. This concluded the memorial service.

Leaders: Otis Hester 542, 498; Sandra Wilkinson 384, 405; Raymond Hamrick 369, 350; Larry Wilkinson 147 (t? b?), 155; Kay Robinson 154, 157; Luann Turner 515b, 523; John Hollingsworth 109; Jon Robinson 196; Timothy Meeks 236; Timothy Haley 46; David Grant 166; Wesley Haley 513, 452.

Richard Johnson closed the convention by asking for announcements of other singings, and led song on page 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Jon Robinson.

President—Richard Johnson; Vice President—Timothy Meeks; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Joyce Harrison; Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley.