Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Winston County Convention

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Double Springs, Alabama

Sunday, September 24, 2017

The Winston County Convention was held at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Double Springs, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday in September. Don Keeton Called the class to order by leading 145t. He offered the opening prayer, and then led 145b.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice; Arranging Committee—Margaret Keeton; Finance Committee—Nicholas Thompson; Memorial Committee—Buell Cobb.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin 35, 146; Nicholas Thompson 217, 200; Nancy Phillips 500, 388; Cheyenne Ivey 384, 172; Christy Allen 186, 276; Roma Rice 299, 273 (for Jayne Fulmer); Mike Hankins 168, 527; Loretta Whitman 81t, 176b; Peter Crockett 126, 45t; Theresa Westmoreland 351, 220.


Glenn Keeton brought the class back to order leading 270 and 278t (for Julie Poston). Leaders: Lauren Allen 323b, 213t; Linda sides 215, 530; Earl Ballinger 177, 176t; Emily Stutzman 275b, 399b; Henry Guthery 465, 511; Amber Davis 499 (in memory of Gladys Bonds), 436 (for Ozella Blackmon); David Jackson 408, 480, 63.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Buell Cobb spoke, and read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Ozella Blackmon, Velton Chafin, Betty Shepherd, Anne Chalker, Shirley Tidwell, Willodean Barton, Julie Poston, and Charlene Wallace.

Buell read the following list of names of the deceased: Gravis Ballinger, Caleb Allred, Hugh McGraw, Johnnie Chafin, and Eloise Wootten. He led 339, and closed the memorial service.

Leaders: Isaac Green 541, 419; Tom Booth 31b, 131b.


The afternoon session began with Richard Mauldin leading 288. Leaders: Lisa Geist 472, 546; Faye Donaldson 430, 124; Larry Ballinger 151, 477; Linda Booth 222; Linda Booth and Amy Dodd 159; Susan Allred 385b, 182; Betty Baccus 166 (for Julie Poston), 72b; Elene Stovall 564, 411; Greg Allred 452; Hazel Heinze 86, 99; Sara Berry 59, 388; Buell Cobb 116; Margaret Keeton, Christy Allen, and Lauren Allen 39b; Amber Davis 192.

Richard Mauldin led 521 as the closing song. Greg Allred offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice