Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Wootten Family New Year’s Eve Singing

Ider, Alabama

December 31, 2016-January 1, 2017

The 55th session of the Wootten Family New Year’s Eve Singing held at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, was called to order by Terry Wootten leading 48t and 59. Loyd Ivey offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Terry Wootten 171 (in memory of Carnice Wootten); Hayden Wootten and Jamey Wootten 82t, 348b; Claudene Townson 572 (CB); Teresa Saylors 133 (CB); Chris Holley and Kathe Pilobosian 108b; Susan Cherones 300; Sierra Saylors 504; Syble Adams 472; Boyd Scott 358; Gary Glover and Syble Adams 480; Gedney Barclay 208; Katherine Eldridge 291; Phil Townson and family 511b (CB).


Hayden Wootten and Cole Wootten led 40 to bring the class together. Leaders: Brenda Dunlap 37b; Andy Ditzler 459; Stacy Pilcher and Susan Pilcher 196 (in memory of Phillip Wootten); Ben Fink 30b; Samuel Williams 543; Robert Walker 99; Nicholas Thompson 142; Isaac Lloyd 29b; Sarah Trumbore 182; Justin Bowen 283; Isaac Green 567; Johnny Dalton 542; Dennis George 288; Hayden Arp 460; Louis Hughes 448t (for Marlon and Eloise Wootten); Aaron Wootten 159; Drew McGuire 422; James Eldridge 129; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 318 (in memory of B.M. Smith); Rodney Ivey and Amy Wootten 47t. Chris Boggs asked a blessing before the meal.


The class was brought back to order by Terry Wootten leading 39t (in memory of Levon Wootten). Leaders: Jamey Wootten 56t; Darrell Swarens and Katherine Eldridge 77t; Elyssa Lloyd 145b; Virginia Eldridge 39b; Daniel Williams 349; Nate Green and Norma Green 35; Gideon Lloyd 277; Rebecca Eldridge 284; Cindy Tanner 155; Angela Myers 436; Ezra Lloyd 107; David Brodeur 272; Adrian Eldridge 456; Esther Williams 276; Eddie Mash 377; Judy Caudle 421; Chris Ryan 134; Linda Thomas and Terry Wootten 345b.


The class was brought together by Hayden Wootten leading 101t. Leaders: David Saylors and Myra Dalton 203; Daniel Bearden 511; Sarah Wootten 186; Kennedy Wootten and Toby 74b; Chris Boggs and Michelle Boggs 290; Dewayne Wootten, Kennedy Wootten, and Cole Wootten 445; Jeffrey Wootten, Terry Wootten, and Dewayne Wootten “Pass Me Not”; Shane Wootten 465 (CB) (for Coy Ivey); Marty Wootten 546; Hayden Wootten and Jamey Wootten 441; Terry Wootten 559 (CB), 410 (CB), 573 (CB), 563 (CB), 505 (CB). Terry Wootten offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Terry Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle