Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dallas County Singing

Dallas, Dallas County, Texas

Saturday, November 12, 2016

The annual Dallas Sacred Harp Singing held at the Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall on Saturday before the second Sunday in November was called to order by Diane Ross leading 171. The opening prayer was offered by Tom Owen.

Leaders: Diane Ross 354t; Sonny Erwin 480; Cheryl Foreman 492; Donald Ross 532; Michele Curran 504; Jerry Ryan 318; Tammy Powell 454; Rick Foreman 475; Donna McKay 225t; Silas Huckaby 168; Chris Nicholson 34b; Janie Short 350; Bruce Coates 566; Ethan Hardy 296; Rick Cunningham 42; Kristie Powell 110; Tom Owen 512; Nancy Price 178; Owen Ross 377; Mike Hinton 418; Sarah Huckaby 31t; Scott Curran 500.


Diane Ross led 40 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Beverly Coates 472; William Price 53; Barbara Smith 455.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Cheryl Foreman and Owen Ross. Cheryl Foreman led 129 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Edith Owen, Curtis Owen, Esther Huckaby, Don Huckaby, Myrl Jones, and Terry Wootten.

Owen Ross spoke and led 66 in honor of the following deceased: Ruth Redmon, Thomas Edward Robinson, and Jimmy Glenn Foreman—Texas; Lavoy Smith and Toney Smith—Alabama; Janelle Davis—Illinois; B.M. Smith and Johnny Lee—Georgia. Owen Ross then read a piece of scripture, and offered a prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Hoss 35; Josh Rogan 434; Gaylon Powell 236; Michael McBright 155; Donald Ross 567; Tammy Powell 542; Jerry Ryan 145t; Silas Huckaby 189; Gypsy Youngraven 159; Chris Nicholson 32t; Chelsea Miller 277; Ethan Hardy 77t; Donna McKay 282; Rick Cunningham 47t; Bruce Coates 49b. Owen Ross offered prayer before the noon meal.


Diane Ross brought the session to order by leading 112. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 489; Cheryl Foreman 534; Tom Owen 70b; Nancy Price 192; Owen Ross 193; Avon Miller 558; Janie Short 344; Michael McBright 547; Abby Huckaby 216; Rick Foreman 448t; Kristie Powell 379; Scott Curran 460; Barbara Smith 479; William Price 324; Beverly Coates 313b; Albano Tayengo and Owen Ross 63; Mike Hinton 373; Michele Curran 269; Josh Rogan 212; Sarah Huckaby 299; Gaylon Powell 487.

Announcements were made. Leaders: Diane Ross 128; Avon Miller 562; Gypsy Youngraven 117; Silas Huckaby 528; Chelsea Miller 503; Ethan Hardy 351; Janie Short 551; Owen Ross 535; Chris Nicolson and Rick Foreman 473; Nancy Price 498; Mike Hinton 154; Tammy Powell 209; Josh Rogan 383; Barbara Smith 183; William Price 24b; Donna McKay 163b; Jerry Ryan 274t; Tom Owen 347; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 176b; Michele Curran and Scott Curran 196; Don Ross 499.

Diane Ross led 267 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Mike Hinton, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Diane Ross; Secretary—Liz Wolff