Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rivanna River Singing

Charlottesville Friends Meeting House, Charlottesville, Virginia

Saturday, September 10, 2016

The 14th annual Rivanna River All-Day Singing was called to order by Bridget Camden leading 163t. Elections were held and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Zachary Bullock; Vice Chairman—Miranda Elliot Rader; Treasurer—John Alexander; Secretary—Beverly Yaeger. The opening prayer was offered by Ateven Snderson.

Leaders: Zachary Bullock 101t; Miranda Elliot Rader 32t; John Alexander 102; Ben Shirley 148; Judy Cahill 87; Hank Schutz 192; Tristan Cleveland 112; Ateven Snderson 107; Les Updike 373; Bess Fitzgerald 28t; Kristin Szakous 268; Will Fitzgerald 448t; Marla Elliot 366 (?); Jim Strube 217; Emily Alton 270; Kathy Manning 318; Ben Hartland 448b.


The class was called back to order by Mary Helen Dupree leading 96. Leaders: Kelly Macklin 216; Chris Wolf 348t; Liz Meitzler 77t; John delRe 42; Emmie Strasburg 34b; Leland delRe 302; Ben Shirley 503; Tristan Cleveland 472; Kathy Manning 142; Ateven Snderson 455; Emily Owens Alton 479; Miranda Elliot Rader and Marla Elliot 208; Hank Schutz 143; Kristin Szakous 209; Jim Strube 210; Will Fitzgerald 532; Bridget Camden 141; John Alexander 317; Bess Fitzgerald 71; Les Updike 145b; Liz Meitzler 76b; John delRe 466; Kelly Macklin 564; Leland delRe 134.

A memorial lesson was conducted by Emily Owens Alton. She read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Karl Ackerman, Jeff Shirley, and Bev Kennell. Emily led 414.

She read the following list of names of the deceased: Bill Anderson, John Vollbrecht, and Sarah Armstrong—Virginia; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Loraine Bayer—Ohio; Robert Dupree and Toney Smith—Alabama; and Megann Schmitt—Wisconsin. Emily led 330b. A prayer was offered by Ateven Snderson.


The afternoon session was called to order and song selections were from either The Sacred Harp (SH) or Shenandoah Harmony (ShH). Leaders: Diane Ober and John Alexander 438 (ShH); Chris Wolf 381 (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 94 (ShH); Ben Hartland 432t (ShH); Zachary Bullock 424 (ShH); Graham Dezarn 284 (ShH); Bridget Camden 310 (ShH); Miranda Elliot Rader 305 (ShH); Will Fitzgerald 106 (ShH); Jim Strube 214 (ShH); Kathy Manning 188 (ShH); John delRe 29 (ShH); Emily Owens Alton 407 (ShH); Ben Shirley 115; Liz Meitzler 60b (ShH); Les Updike 296 (ShH); Leland delRe 411 (ShH).


The class was called back together by Jim Strube leading 5t (ShH). Leaders: John Alexander 4t (ShH); Kelly Macklin 154 (ShH); Marla Elliot 269; Ateven Snderson 200 (ShH); Emmie Strasburg 163t; Zach Bullock 260t (ShH) (for Hank Schutz); Graham Dezarn 428 (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 22b (ShH); Chris Wolf 158t (ShH); Zachary Bullock 260b (ShH); Emily Owens Alton 416 (ShH); Will Fitzgerald 429 (ShH); Kathy Manning 232 (ShH); John delRe 316b (ShH); Marla Elliot and Miranda Elliot Rader 504; Ben Shirley 72b (ShH); Kelly Macklin 218t (ShH).

Judy Cahill submitted the following resolutions, thanking Barbarie Hill and Ben Shirley for their work in the kitchen, Ateven Snderson for being Chaplain, Emily Owens Alton for offering the memorial lesson, Beverly Yaeger for doing registration, Diane Ober and Ben Griffen for arranging, and John del Re, Kelly Macklin, Hank Schutz, and Chris Wolf for pitching.

Zachary Bullock led 347 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Ateven Snderson.

Chairman—Zachary Bullock; Vice Chairman—Miranda Elliot Rader; Secretary—Beverly Yaeger